Posted by: JennyRain | October 8, 2009

Finding your inner animal

If you could be any animal for a day, what would it be and why?

This is another one of my favorite questions to ask my friends. Not only is it a great ice-breaker, but it allows you to find out more about people just like yesterday’s question.

The objective to answering this question is not to over-analyze, but to respond with the first picture or word for an animal that comes to your mind. That will most often provide an accurate representation.

I find it remarkably consistent that the answers people give to this question really do provide a clue about their personality!

My favorite answer to this question was from a friend’s boyfriend at that time. His answer? “Turtle.” It was such an accurate depiction of who he was we almost split our sides we were laughing so hard!

I find that often people’s answers suprise them.

One of my friends answered, “Well, this can’t possibly be correct!” As I inquired further as to his consternation I discovered that his animal was… drumroll please…“A sloth.”

Two months later I saw why!

Another one of my favorite answers was “A butterfly!” After erupting in peals of laughter over the fact that “a butterfly is not an animal silly!” I watched as this young woman walked through some trying circumstances where truly she was transformed from a fragile Chrysallis into a beautiful butterfly!

Can your animal change?

Short answer, yes. Over time I have seen this happen in my own life. The answer to my question ten years ago was “Bengal Tiger” whereas the answer that has stuck with me lately is “Giraffe.”

My Bengal Tiger has not totally disappeared, it still lurks in the background, however, the Giraffe is now more prominent in my mind. 

Is it a true reflection of who we are?

A better question is – it is a true reflection of who we think we are. The psychology behind this question is a concept called “projection.” We subconsciously project qualities, personalities, character traits that we believe we have and it becomes the animal we see in our mind. Others have called it projective identification.

“For as he thinks in his heart, so is he” – Proverbs 23:7

So, what’s your answer?

 


Leave a comment

Categories