Posted by: JennyRain | September 2, 2010

Miracle of Connection: Online comfort

There is a miracle happening in the body of Christ in our generation.

It’s called connnection and community and it’s happening online.

Real community. Genuine community. Close-knit community.

All the believers were together and had everything in common (Acts 2.44)

I have – by God’s Abundant grace – fallen into this beautiful place called online community and have met and grown close to several of these folks whose stories I have listened to, been broken by, been encouraged by, and been pushed one-step closer to God through.

I have hugged their necks.
I have re-discovered my tears as they have shared their stories.
They have weaved their way into my daily prayers.
They have created a credible platform from which they speak into my life.
We have looked to the other for solace, prayers, and comfort on our rough days.

Two years ago as I prepared to marry my sweetie and move back to DC, I prayed that God would fill my life with community.

He did.

This online community has on more than one occasion pointed me straight back to the heart of Christ when I have struggled to find my way… and I am so incredibly, eternally, grateful.

Last week John and I had a rough week

{I think you probably gleaned that from my posts earlier this week}.

Thursday I had hit a wall and was not sure how to proceed. My real-time community here at the church I work at came alongside of me and prayed with me. And then my virtual {but very real!} online community came alongside of me.

One woman in particular had a tremendous impact on me. Her name is Melissa.

After reading this post, my heart splintered into a million pieces and God gave me the courage to reach out to her.

I was struggling because I had a “bad marriage day” and Melissa responded immediately:

“I’m so sorry to hear that Jenny. Praying for you and your marriage today!”

That means so much, you know? To know that someone who has never met you is praying.

Melissa then went on to start an email exchange with me where she just encouraged me and just said all the right things. (I have saved that email chain and have read it multiple times because it encourages me. Every.Single.Time I read it.)

Then she said and continued to say, “I am praying for you.”

Wow. SHE is praying for ME.

A person she has never met. I’m just a fellow blogger who has commented on her site and she on mine.

But somehow God connected our hearts in that moment because He wants to make an eternal difference in my marriage – through the prayers of another.

That.Is.Church.

Real church. Alive church. Authentic-Jesus-like church.

Such a small gesture… with such an eternal impact.

To me, this is a miracle… how God is reclaiming the blogosphere to create redemptive community experiences like the one that I have had.

Maybe you are a Melissa out there – someone who can pray for another. Or maybe you are a Jenny – someone who is in need and reaches out.

Whoever you are… you are Jesus-with-skin-on to someone who desperately needs it.

So go be the church, and be a miracle in someone’s day.

This is the church,
This is the steeple.
Look inside.
And see all the people.

Responses

  1. beautiful! i am so glad you were encouraged at the right time! I too have been SO amazed lately by this little online community I’m cultivating and I love it…I never knew how much I could love, hurt with, cry with, rejoice with, laugh with…all these lovelies who I have yet to meet πŸ™‚

    • I know! totally friend πŸ™‚ And now cuz our stories have intersected I get to take you “virtually” with me to Burundi too! I know you’ll like that fellow Africa traveler πŸ™‚ Hugs

  2. Jenny,
    Our community though online is real, at the end of these comments is a flesh and blood person, sister, brother, believer. You and John are in my twice daily prayers always. God Bless
    Jim

    • Hi Jim!

      God brought you and Stacia up the other day in my prayers… are y’all ok? Anything specifically I can pray for?

      You are a blessing Jim… when I told my mom about this really amazing man and his wife who are praying for John and I she said, “Oh, you mean blesseddad?” It was so cool… I think you have encouraged HER because she knows she is not the only one standing on the wall for us.

      God is so good Jim… thank you for being such an integral part of mine and John’s community. Lord willing we will all be able to meet someday!

  3. Jenny, I can so relate. Something wonderful is happening with the Body of Christ online. God owns the internet. It’s all His. Our online networking has His heavenly feel…. no bodies… just our personalities and spirits interacting with one another… encouraging, teaching, loving, sharing… it’s wonderful!

    • Yes! I love it… and seeing these friendships become so real and life-giving… it is what the church is supposed to be πŸ™‚ beautiful…

  4. “Whoever you are… you are Jesus-with-skin-on to someone who desperately needs it.”

    Reminded of that yesterday when I found out a guy accepted Christ and part of what God used to reach him was the blathering on my blog. You just never know when what you say or what you do is impacting someone else in ways we can’t imagine.

    • You are kidding me! Jason that is SO cool πŸ™‚ Wow – see God is totally using you brother πŸ™‚

  5. Good to hear how God is using His people to minister to each other through this medium.

    By the way, the biblically correct version of the little children’s verse is:

    This is the building,
    and this is the steeple,
    Open the doors,
    The church IS the people!

    –Richard

    • Richard I LOVE that! Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

  6. Love doing church with you. You are on my heart and I am amazed that my words had such an impact on you…that means it was God working through us in our community. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m with you, Jenny. I used to think people who had “online friends” were a little bit looney and more than anti-social. Five years later, I’m the looney one. I love these online people, so many of whom have become real life people. Great post.

  8. Okay, this is freaky. I just submitted a really, really long comment and now I don’t see it. Can you see one with links to my favorite online Christians?

  9. Amen, Sister… I think this little online community I’ve found myself in has blessed me in ways I’ll never even know. It’s overwhelming sometimes.

    Actually, it’s overwhelming most of the time. πŸ™‚ Glad you have this as well…

  10. so beautiful. . .i have found this same thing with members of the online community. . .there is nothing like opening up my iMail and having an email out of the blue by people i haven’t met face to face saying “i am thinking of you and praying for you” in the moments i feel most forgotten. . .PTL for these things!

    • I know – it is so powerful. I have been humbled on more than one occasion by this πŸ™‚ I agree PTL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

