Posted by: JennyRain | September 1, 2010

Divine Callings: Staying the course to Burundi

Do you ever make a decision and then wonder if you made the right one?

I have trouble with this too.

As time goes by, doubt creeps in like a cancer and causes me to question things.

It is no secret my Burundi trip was magical for me this year.

It is also no secret that I did a spiritual and emotional crash-landing when I returned and questioned a lot of things in my life.

Soon after we landed back on American soil, one of the leaders (Susan) and I began praying about returning to Burundi. Some of the in-country leaders had asked us to come back and the more we prayed and planned, the more we were sensing God’s call to go back.

For me, it seems Africa will always be a resounding “Yes!” from God, so the tricky part I have in prayer is discerning the where of Africa and the when of Africa.

The lights on the runway of THIS particular season seem to be indicating “All systems go!” for a return trip.

Yet throughout the process the trip planning, things have been shaken, stirred, and re-whipped to create something much different than we have originally planned.

The areas we thought we would not have difficulty, we have, and the areas we thought would slide by unencumbered have not. Providentially, our work is supportive, my husband is supportive, and the desire and logistics seem to be there. It’s the timing that keeps shooting us in the foot now.

Yet we press on.

So Sunday morning, I was once again praying, “Lord, are you absolutely, positively, 100% sure that you want us to go back to Burundi? Now? Like this year?”

And I picked up my devotional and read this:

Um, ok, for realz? That is in the bible?

The devotional went on to say:

You must persist! If you don’t, you’ll miss what God wants you to have. Furthermore, if you don’t recognize and celebrate small miracles “the size of a man’s hand” you’ll miss the biggest ones so essential to your future.

Um. Ok. Wow.

I ran in to show my husband – he smiled.

I sent it to my co-traveler Susan – she smiled (across text).

It was such a cool and perfect little miracle of reassurance from heaven.

A holy moment where God’s ways intersected human life and reminded me that all is not only what we can see with our eyes.

How long will you waver between two opinions? If the LORD is God, follow Him… 1 Kings 18.21

What miracles have you stepped into lately and how did they help strengthen your faith?

Share

Responses

  1. Last night, I tried to step into what I felt God calling me to do by writing a declaration I was going to post on my blog. Instead, I fell so ill so fast that I slept for 11 of the next 13 hours. The other two were eating and basically laying on the living room floor half in a daze. πŸ™‚

    I’m encouraged by what’s happening in your life. Thank you for being so willing to share it all. The fact you had that verse on the day you were questioning is simply awesome.

    • Jason – God is just SO awesome…it doesn’t always happen like that, that obvious, but in this case, what an encouragement.

      I’m SOOOO incredibly encouraged by some of the leaps and risks you have taken in your life too, so thank YOU for pushing me out of some of my “fear spots”.

      Hey – and I pray you feel better friend.

  2. Wow, Jenny, that’s exciting. Sometimes I, like you, just long for God to make His will, His preference, His answers CLEAR! What an answer He gave you!

    • I know – He is SOOOOO good Linda, So good.

  3. So when???and which part of Africa?
    through GI? πŸ™‚

    • Oh my gosh… girl – we gotta talk – I’ll fill you in… it is so stinkin cool. So amazingly God!

  4. I’d say this one hit you right on the head πŸ™‚

    • For real! I need it like that sometimes πŸ™‚

  5. wow.. Jenny, that’s amazing… gave me goosebumpies…

    • Hi friend! I have missed reading your posts, they so encourage me… I have had like zero time at night to do my usual blog perusing… so HIIIII! God is so good… so good πŸ™‚

  6. Thank you for posting this. So often after I have experienced the hand of God reach down into my life and place what I need in front of me, time rolls on and I begin to doubt. Like the Israelites in the desert, I cry out to God, give me more. Reading your post reminded me of ALL He has give me.

    • Rob, oh gosh, me too… me too. I’m so glad that this pointed you to Him. So often I forget that every step of the way He is there with us… and we are never alone… I’m glad you were encouraged today πŸ™‚

  7. Can I just give a thumbs up to this. So awesome that God is showing you exactly what you need to do and you are saying, “Yes!” Wooohooo! Go Jenny!!!

    • EEEE! so exciting πŸ™‚ God is great!

  8. I have been trying to really step out in risky faith lately. That just means speaking about my heart and passion in all kinds of ways and with all kinds of people. That has been fun, but so hard. I feel like i am being faithful to what he wants me to do. Lots of seeds take faith and patience. The question of will i persevere in those times? will i wait? that’s a miracle

    • Girl you are SOOOOO stepping out there… I can see it. Your post the other day resonated all the way down to my toes. You are being faithful, I can see it… and you are taking risks that will pay off.

      Deep breath… praying for you today.

  9. This is breathtakingly beautiful. I love it when God speaks through His Word…it brings such clarity. When I come across the same thing, I write the date next to the scripture. It’s neat to go back in your bible and see how God spoke to you and in what season of your life.

    We serve an intimate God whose inner workings in our lives have no limit.

    Will join in prayer as you seek to minister where you are called!


Leave a Reply

Categories

