Posted by: JennyRain | August 17, 2010

Capturing the Moments

The most difficult thing for me to do between Monday and Friday is step into unscheduled, unplanned moments.

To put more than my big toe into the water of the unknown and embrace the empty space.
To allow that unplanned moment to fill my lungs with air and my mind with clarity.

Even right now as I write this I am already planning out tomorrow’s post.

It is taking every ounce of my self-control not to write it.

I plan incessantly.

I plan because I am a planner. It is what I know. It is what I do. I am good at it.

The only time I am not planning is when I do not have a piece of paper, computer, calendar, blackberry-now-android, or other said planning device within the grasp of my fingertips.

Yet this week, I am surrendering to the moment. To not planning. To being ready to receive what God might have for me in the moment, or what I may want to share with Him.

This week is about getting out of my head and into my heart… my spirit… and my senses.

Everything in me is rebelling against it. Still.

What if I could live in FULL abandon to the moment?

What if I allowed myself to throw my head back

stretching arms-wide open
engaging heart-and-mind
planting my feet firmly

and entering into the spaces of time 

This is what I asked myself yesterday as I set out on a quest for the holy in the moments of my days.

This morning on the way into work my mind was arrested and I had a glimpse of a fully-captured moment.

It was brief, but it was a moment captured.

Through song, I was attuned to a wordless prayer in my heart…

Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words
That you could not find
Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it…

                           – Natasha Bedingfield: Unwritten

“Let the [Son] illuminate the words that you could not find…”

Yes. This is resonating with my heart. Words. Sentences that would not form.

Let Him illuminate those phrases… catches of time… wisps of experience that I cannot define.

As I reach for the goals on the horizon or live into the moments now… let the Son illuminate the story that needs to be written.

Through song, I defined what my heart needed to be seeking…

in your eyes
I am complete
in your eyes
the resolution of all the fruitless searches

“[You are] the resolution of all [my] fruitless searches…”

Yes. My heart has found the right chords to my melody.

Through song, God has broken through to create a holy moment…

Everything is made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am

“I just want [You] to know [me] Lord…”

As I begin to find the Holy in my moments… Lord I too want to be known. Deeply. Intimately. Assuredly. Eternally. Because to be known and to Know the One who holds time in His hands is the penultimate purpose of the moments of our lives…

That is what I discovered in my moment today.

My times are in Your hand…Psalm 31:15

Share

Responses

  1. there is so much beauty in surrender. just like a little girl raising up her hands wanting to surrender and be carried by her Daddy. =]

  2. I need the spirit to illuminate the words I don’t have! such a great line. praying for his spirit to move. More so, praying that I make room for that to happen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

