Posted by: JennyRain | August 11, 2010

Be the change… today

Be the change
you wish to see
in the world

-Ghandi


This is my friend Samantha.

I had the incredible blessing of going to Burundi with her and watching her make a daily difference in the lives around her. I love this picture of Sam because it was one of those moments where I watched magic happen.

Our team was in Makamba visiting families who had become refugees in Tanzania after the genocide occurred in Burundi. As the families began to return to Burundi, World Relief scooped them up into loving communities and helped re-establish them in homes, occupations, and integrated them back into Burundian society.

Visiting Makamba took the wind out of the team’s lungs as we saw the squallid conditions they lived in before WR helped get them resettled and learned of the years spent wandering through tent-camps in Tanzania waiting to come back. I admit – I hid behind a camera. Others just listened.

But Sam…

She stepped right into the middle of the story with a smile on her face, bent down, reached out and across the divide, and touched the story that seemed so far away from all of us.

She made a difference… just by reaching out.

She was the change she wanted to see in their world.

What change would you like to see in the world?

How can you be a part of it?

What is stopping you from BEING that change today?

Share

Responses

  1. That would have to be one of the most beautiful photographs I have ever seen.

  2. The fact God said I’m not ready yet.

    But when I am…look out. πŸ˜‰

    • I’ve been hearing this, too Jason. It feels weird to wait, doesn’t it? And.. I guess… calm knowing we are being led.

  3. So many emotions whirl around in me. Daily my family and I reach out to be the change. In our own back yard here in America. In a place where children do go to bed without the American Dream and no food in their bellies. Where they turn to drugs because they think it is the only choice. We live this out every day.

    What stops us? Can I be honest?

    Exhaustion.

    On so many levels. The change is so slow. It is so deep.

    There are levels upon levels to the change.

    We need a vacation. I real one. Far away to stop and breath. But, that doesn’t seem to happen these days.

    But- I can’t NOT be the change. It is the fire in my bones. It is woe to me if I do not follow my Savior through the streets of the city.

    Because I can see. With all that is in me deep down. I close my eyes and I see it. I see transformation in Christ. I see and I am chasing my Savior towards that dream.

  4. Someone at my church used this piece of poetry as the opening prayer last Sunday:

    “I slept and dreamt that life was joy. I awoke and found that life was service. I acted, and behold, service is joy.” – Rabindranath Tagore

    Beautiful post today, Ms. Rain. πŸ™‚

  5. Jenny,
    You and your friends that work in missions are such an inspiration to others. The passion you all show in serving “the least of these” for Christ is so evident it is contageous, and spreads to others. I hope this mission I go on in the fall will be the first of many. God Bless
    Jim

  6. Amen! Thanks for your encouraging blog!

    –Tim

  7. So amazing. I used to reach put without thinking. Now I have to think in order to figure out HOW to reach out. I am so afraid of becoming complacent about that.

  8. I want to change the world with my writing and I have to trust God for the publication.

    I want to change the world one child at a time. That’s why we just applied for adoption. I’m really excited because we are open to a child of any race and that makes the dreams of our baby so very broad.

  9. Wow… that is a beautiful photo and your words speak to my heart. Thank you for this post.

    in His precious, unfailing love,
    Melanie
    ~ melscoffeebreak.blogspot.com ~

  10. Oh gosh, make this post 5 different times in the last 2 days this same message has been delivered to me in different formats through unrelated people.

    Wow.

    πŸ™‚

    • very cool…. can’t wait to see how the message plays its way out in your heart and life πŸ™‚ so exciting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

