Posted by: JennyRain | July 23, 2010

Friday Favorites: Round 12

Welcome to Round 12 of the Friday Favorites!

As y’all know, each Friday I choose three of my favorite OPB’s (Other People’s blogs) from the week and share them. 

This last week I have seen some very cool ways that bloggers and blogging communities are finding to connect, so I wanted to share them. Hope you enjoy this week’s “Connect Me” edition of the Friday Follow.

1 – We are Real: High Calling Blogs (HCB): Last week I stumbled upon High Calling Blogs. It is a community of bloggers like me and you. This week, HCB encouraged readers to “write guest posts on a network-friend’s site to describe how online life has been (or not been) an experience with becoming real to one another.” You may remember I did this a while back in my Friday Favorites too. I’ve only been at HCB for a week or so, but already love what they are doing. If you haven’t checked them out, go see em!

2 – Hi, I’m Lisa-Jo. And you are? The Gypsy Mama: Y’all have seen Lisa-Jo here at the Rain as one of my fan-tabulous guest posters. Last Friday she rocked the blogosphere with her “connect with the person to the left of you” post. It was creative and wonderful and many of us met new bloggers, tweeters, and all around wonderful people. Lisa-Jo is also the new manager over at Incourage(me), so if you haven’t checked that community out… go participate!

3 – Your Best Blog Now: Nicole Wick: Periodically, Nicole will do these posts called “Your Best Blog Now” where bloggers have the chance to link up their all-time-favorite (or favorite of the month) blog to her site. You can link up your own blog or someone else’s, but the point is to connect your virtual blogging community and make it real. Did I mention Nicole also gives away prizes?

So who else do I read?

This is the list… to date… but I LOVE learning about new blogs, so if you know about cool blogs (or have one yourself) give me a shout out in the comments – I’ll add you to my list!

An Idol Heart (Grant)
Annie Blogs (Annie)
Best Days of My Life (Sarah)
Big Toe People (Kris)
Bring the Rain (Alicia)
Blessed Dad (Jim)
Chad Markley (Chad)
Come & See (Tracee)
David Goodwin (David)
Dirty Girls Ministries (Crystal & Sarah)
Emerson and Sarah (Emerson and Sarah)
Everything Happens for a Reason (Tonya)
Fearless Flying (Bailey)
Find me…The Real me (Heidi)
Flowerdust (Anne)
GitzenGirl (Sara)
Giving up on Perfect (Mary)
Grit and Glory (Alece)
The Gypsy Mama (Lisa-Jo)
Heart-and-Home (Ashleigh)
Holy Handmaiden (Courtnee)
Inner City Observations (Leneita)
In The Name of Love (Bianca)
InProgress (Tam)
Jenni Clayville (Jenni)
JJJourney (Sarah Rachel)
Jonathan Pearson (Jonathan)
Joshua R White (photos) (Joshua)
Just Sayin (Lindsey)
JoshDevine.com (Josh)
Leading in Shades of Gray (Jenni)
Living Dilbert
Love and Respect NOW (Joy)
Love is an Orientation (Andrew)
Love Wins (Elora)
Lysa TerKeurst (Lysa)
Madabella (Melissa)
Mandy Thompson (Mandy)
Mary Jo Hess (Mary Jo)
Mauldin Family Diaries (Candice)
Melissa Brotherton (Melissa)
My Cup Overflows (Patricia)
My Heart Resonates with a Glorious Sound (Jessica)
My Living Canvas (AnnieLaurie)
Nicole Wick (Nicole)
People of the Second Chance (Mike & Jud)
Pre Middle Age (Cole)
Prudy Chick (Prudence)
Rachel Olsen (Rachel)
Ryan Spilhaus (Ryan)
Ragamuffin Soul (Carlos)
Rainbow Gulf of Love (Gladwell)
Refine Us (Trisha and Justin)
(RE)made (Adam)
Reflections of a Ragamuffin (Traylor)
Robyn W. Buxton (Robyn)
Run-a-Muck (Amber)
Sarah Markley (Sarah)
Shaun Groves (Shaun)
Shelia Walsh (Shelia)
Sheryl O’Bryan (Sheryl)
Spin-the-Axis (Jason)
Spur (Kristie)
Stuff Christians Like (Jonathan)
Taza and Husband (Kingsley the bulldog)
Ten things about Kelli (Kelli)
There is a time under heaven (Manda)
TimSchraeder.com (Tim)
Treasures of My Heart (Melissa)
T. Suzanne Eller (Suzie)
Thoreau-Bred Baby (Kelli)
Tom Davis (Tom)
What Matters Most (Melanie)
Walter the Pug (Walter)
What’s up with the Werts? (Amy)
Whittaker Woman (Heather)
Without Wax (Pete)

Blogging Communities (New!)

Gather Inspirit
High Calling Blogs
(In)Courage
Leading and Loving It
Scripture Dig


Share

Responses

  1. How fun to see We Are Real highlighted at the top of your Friday Favorites! Thanks for bringing High Calling Blogs into your online world–the theme on your post today suggests that you are a great connector, introducing people to each other. I love that! It’s a way of creating community and practicing hospitality, in a virtual sense. Have a great weekend!

    • But of course Ann! Have SO enjoyed HCB so far and have recommended it to several of my friends. Love what y’all are doing and the writers are fan-tab-ulous over there! Such an inspiration.

  2. Can’t wait to check some of these sites out…and how sweet are you to put my little blog on your list? 😉 Thank you!

  3. I totally agree with Ann! You seem to be a great connector, and I appreciate seeing High Calling blogs featured here! I’ve always appreciated the sense of real community there previously as a member, and now as a part of the editorial team.

    I’m also a big fan of Nicole Wick, and glad that she made your list today too! Excellent choice! I love what she’s doing over at her blog!

    • Thanks Dan 🙂 One of my ministry visions is to help others discover, and then lift others up in their own life dreams. I’ve found that God continually puts me in the path of other folks just as they are getting started on their journeys to pray for them and encourage them. I love it! So… of course God is doing the same thing here at the blog, so I’ve decided to share my space as a way to encourage and uplift others.

      Stay tuned cuz in the next couple of weeks we have “Man Week at the Rain” where several amazing men will be posting some incredible stories. I was loading up the series today and found myself teary eyed on more than one occasion.

      Love me some Nicole blogs… found her through the Marin Foundation blogs and have been hooked ever since 🙂

  4. Hey girlfriend…I wanted to email you to see if you wanted to do a guest post for my upcoming series, “REKNOWN” in October 2010…buuut me no have your addy! haha! Shoot me an email if you are interested and I will send the details your way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

