Posted by: JennyRain | July 21, 2010

Trusting that He Can See Around the Corner

Developing trust in God has been a huge part of my healing journey.

The scriptures say,

Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not unto your own understanding. In all of your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3.5-6

Um, hmm. Alrighty then… well, that is a wonderful sentiment IF you have any concept of what it means to live from your heart. Unfortunately, I had so mastered the art of existing comfortably numb, I had checked out of my heart’s rhythms in about 1986.

I did not know how to trust “with all of my heart.” I did not even know how to trust with “all of my mind!”

So God began to teach me through every-day experiences where He gently revealed to me how little I really trusted Him.

In early 2003 I was struggling to find direction and my heart was aching for a touch from God.

As life often requires, though we ache, we must plod along through our days nonplussed.

I was training that day at a new location that I had never been to and when I called for directions, the project assistant reiterated the importance of “waiting to turn until I had reached the second Ronald Reagan Airport exit off of 395, not the first.”

I questioned whether or not such an exit actually existed because I traveled 395 daily.

Driving over the 395 overpass I came upon a Ronald Reagan Airport exit and very fiber of my being stretched towards the off-ramp.

“Is this the first or the second exit? What if there is no second exit? I’ve never seen a second exit, and this one seems to point in the direction I need to go. Why not just take this one!” I fought.

“Maybe the first exit was behind me and this really is the second one. If I don’t take it I’ll be stuck in traffic and late to my training session!” It is a miracle I did not take the exit.

I continued my drive, knuckles clenched around the steering wheel, shoulders stiffening into brick soldiers from the tension of the wait. I internally berated myself because I was sure I had missed my exit and my car tires turned into sticky molasses as time dripped on like a leaky pipe.

“Where was my exit!?”

The directionally challenged youngster on the phone call who had shared her advice to “wait for the second exit” was obviously mistaken so then she became the target of my anger. My stomach tied into monkey-bread knots and the stress constricted my failing eyesight.

395 unrolled itself like a Christmas ribbon across a living-room floor. I inched along slower than a centipede on a ninety-degree day.

There was NO second exit.

Just as my vice-grip was about to morph the steering-wheel into a second apendage, I glimpsed an exit sign.

The promised second exit was in view!

The sign had been hidden around the corner I had just tipped around on the left two of my car wheels (My car was straining with me you see as it was also convinced there was no second exit).

Like a chorus of angels the heavens opened up in song.

The second exit was there.

Though I could not yet fully see it, the exit had been there all along… around the corner.

All I had needed to do was keep driving and be patient until I reached it and learn to trust in the God who can see around every corner and has a plan for every exit.

Thanks for participating in this “healing week” here at the Rain. If you missed them, here are Part 1 and Part 2. If you are in a season of healing and need prayer… please enter a comment below and I will lift you in prayer today.

Share

Responses

  1. Hmmmm….. that whole trust thing, so hard. I thing I’ve made some progress this month, but dang if trust isn’t the thorn in my side! I creep on the trust road. Learning the why and how to loosening my clenched fist of trust.

  2. Oh man…I can’t count the number of times I’ve done the same thing. The frustration that just overwhelms you. Ugh.

    I’ve done the same thing with God way too many times.

  3. Jenny,
    I could feel every tense moment as you walked us through that scenario. The directionally challenged youngster, but you did “NOT” turn at that first exit, because even though you really wanted to, your heart said trust, a little.
    I find myself in this quandry often enough. One of my favorit scriptures, yet one of my bigges challenges is “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not unto your own understanding”.
    The world tells us to suck it up, take charge of our future, to “lean on our own understanding” but that always crashes and burns. Thanks Jenny and God Bless you and John!
    Jim

  4. This was as good as I anticipated! Thanks for ministering to me through your words. I’m now excited to hear God’s direction and to see what’s around the corner.

  5. […] I don’t think I can do this.  I need you.”  We know that though we can’t, He sees around the corner and will be there too as we have faith, and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

