Posted by: JennyRain | July 19, 2010

The Partnership of Healing


Behold, I am going to send an angel before you to guard you along the way and to bring you to the place which I have prepared. Exodus 23:20

There is a road to health, and God knows the way.

I have had many healing seasons in my life. Times where I have tried to grab away the reigns of control to steer the wild stallion along bumpy terrain. Curling the leather reigns around my tiny hands I lean back against the majestic black monster in futile attempts to steer it.

Most times the unruly beast throws his head back, mounts up on its paunches and sends me airborne to land in the dusty earth.

Healing does not come at my command.

I do not know the way.

Every attempt I make to guide myself leaves me bruised and motionless.

You shall serve the Lord your God, and He shall bless your bread and your water, and I will remove the sickness from your midst. Exodus 23.26

About five years ago, God made it very clear to me that I could not control my healing.

The cuts that had been inflicted upon my heart by others and myself were incurable by human hands.

Like a cancer that was ravaging away my organs, dysfunction had become my norm and defense mechanisms were maintaining its stronghold over my life.

The areas of sickness cast a horizonless shadow over my days and every attempt to peel away the darkness only revealed layers of thunderclouds.

My heart was being cloaked from the danger of the massive storm because I lived in darkness. But it was the storm surge that I needed to find my wings.

I will make your enemies turn their backs to you… I will drive out the -ites (all of them!)… I will not drive them out before you in a single year, that the land may become desolate and the beasts of the field become too numerous for you. I will drive them out little by little until you become fruitful and take possession of the land. Exodus 23.28-30

Because darkness covered so many different areas of my life, I did not know how to live in the light.

God in His infinite grace knew this. He knew that to take me from unhealthy to healthy in a single swoop of His hand would not be effective. I had not yet learned how to live in a functional environment. I had no skills.

Sending me into the promised land without tools would only leave me hungry and captive again.

I needed to learn how to become healthy… step by little step… and I needed someone to teach me how to live functionally.

I will deliver the inhabitants of the land into your hand, and you will drive them out before you. Exodus 23.33

The problems I had were larger than me and I needed a master surgeon to remove the internal virus from my soul.

I had a role in my healing, but it was not to be the Operator.

Rather, God was calling me to be the co-operator.

My role was to partner with Him. As God brought me different areas of un-healing, I was to submit to His leading on that particular area of healing, not rush head-long into a different path.

If God said, “We need to work on how you respond in conflict,” then I would surrender to His leading as He took me through the “practice-field” of the HITtite invaders.

If God said, “Your self-esteem and self-worth are severely damaged so you are struggling with feeling competent,” then I would bring my tools to fight the army of the CANnanites.

If God said, “You have a pauper mentality. You live in the midst of abundance and you are still not satisfied, we need to work on your perceptions,” then I would cooperate as He brought the HAVE-not-ites for me to destroy.

In each instance, God was the actor, I was the responder.

Ten years later, I can tell you that God’s healing plan works.

Maybe you are facing a healing season that looks as if it will defeat you.

This week I will be talking about some areas of healing God has taken me through. Though the journey has not always been fun, it has been worth it.

Your season will look different from mine, but I do know one thing….

God knows the plans he has for you [insert your name here]. They are plans for your welfare and not for your destruction. Plans to prosper you. Plans to give you [insert your name here] a hope and a future.

Please let me know how I can be praying for you this week as we take this journey together… I pray that something in one of the posts this week will encourage, minister, inspire, and challenge you to reach up toward your Heavenly Father who loves you so much He laid down His life to give you a new chance at soul-prosperity.

The kind of prosperity that does not come by human hands, but by Heavenly deeds.

Share

Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to reading your posts the rest of the week!

    • Thanks – I had fun writing them out this weekend… now to find the courage to post them… a’hem ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jenny
    You have been through so much, yet God can make us new again, in His own time. I look forward to your posts this week also. I would ask that if you pray for me, it would be for dilligence. This seems to be the struggle lately. God Bless
    Jim

    • you got it! I will pray for perseverence for you!

  3. Jenny,

    We always talk about God being a “gentleman” and that he will knock on the door but not barrel his way in. However, I will contend that with those of us that are his children when we need healing, he will do whatever he needs to to make it obvious that he just wants to bring us close. Then there are those times when he rips a scab off that we didn’t even know was there. He finds another layer to remove so that we can be changed into his likeness…

    • so true… I just wrote about the whole “God is a gentleman” myth a few weeks ago… how often we wrap entire theological systems around simple sayings like that… I’m guilty of it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I really need prayer as I’m starting to miss my ex again. It doesn’t matter, because he broke my heart and is now kind of with someone new. I’m starting to second guess my discernment and think maybe he wasn’t so bad, maybe his sin wasn’t so bad because we all sin, maybe I was too hard on his sin (why he broke up with me) and maybe he wasn’t really sinning as much as I thought, etc. ( a particular sin he struggled with). I try to read the Word and I’m convicted that I judged him too much. My mentor thinks I’m twisting the Word to my situation instead of reading and taking its truth head on. I don’t know. All I know is I want this pain to stop, I want to stop missing him because he doesn’t miss me, and I want to be healed. How do I give it over to Him? How does he heal? I’ve tried to give it over, but I don’t get how?

    • Alicia – I know you have been struggling for awhile with this and my heart hurts with you. I am praying right now that the Father of Light shines into your broken heart the warmth of His Presence. That as He shines brightly you feel comforted, renewed, made whole.

      I have found in my own life that every single time I’ve “cut and run” from a relationship – it has been the right decision. In other words – the times I haven’t cut and run is when I have regretted it. Even though he broke up w/you – it sounds like in your heart you were placing some separation between the two of you far prior to the actual breakup – Listen to the wisdom of your heart … it was your heart that led you to discern that things were not 100 percent right w/his sin – don’t discount or minimize that.

      Ask God the source of the pain too… what the original referent for the pain was. It is possible that some of what you are feeling may have a deeper source than this ex. I have found that breakups are hard – and the pain is there – but if it lingers in an intense way beyond 10-12 months w/o abating… there may be some deeper wounds God is trying to surface…

      I am praying for you and have been for awhile…will continue.

      • Thank you so much. I need lots of prayer for this. I know I shouldn’t be with him, because he is not trying to fix this sin, and doesn’t think it’s a sin and doesn’t think he needs to… I wasn’t happy with that. But it’s weird because he loves Jesus and it always telling his non-Christian friends about Jesus and talks the talk.. but doesn’t always walk the walk.
        It doesn’t matter now .. but I don’t know.
        I’m building my life around my church – he just happens to be a deacon at it :-\

  5. Very timely in the midst of my dear friend Erica’s T shirts on Yetct.com based on Jeremiah 29:11.

    • ooo – include the link to the shirts Jilly!

  6. Jenny,

    Trips are short but when I think of
    Journeys, they are long………

    I am reminded of the song… “Word of God Speak” by Mercy Me…

    I’m finding myself at a loss for words
    And the funny thing is it’s okay
    The last thing I need is to be heard
    But to hear what You would say

    [CHORUS]
    Word of God speak
    Would You pour down like rain
    Washing my eyes to see
    Your majesty
    To be still and know
    That You’re in this place
    Please let me stay and rest
    In Your holiness
    Word of God speak

    I’m finding myself in the midst of You
    Beyond the music, beyond the noise
    All that I need is to be with You
    And in the quiet hear Your voice

    [REPEAT CHORUS 2x]

    I’m finding myself at a loss for words
    And the funny thing is it’s okay

    FINDing ourselves at a loss for words…. may not just be God’s plan for the journey…

    Sometimes I just have to BE STILL AND KNOW.

    Love your post!

  7. I wish healing, sanctification, and all that was over night. Like I’d go to bed damaged and wake up in the morning well not damaged. It doesn’t work that way.

    “Sending me into the promised land without tools would only leave me hungry and captive again.”

    I love the truths in that phrase. For all the times we spend discontent, tapping our foot & drumming our fingers at God we should stop and realize He’s preparing us. Giving us tools so we aren’t left hungry & captive.

  8. awesome post, jenny… love your writing! great words of wisdom …

  9. The healing power of God is so strong when we surrender our will. I love how He is the Operator and we must cooperate! Now, why is that so hard to do?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Looking forward to your posts and seeing God’s glory and restoration shine through you!

  10. This is fantastic…. I LOVE IT!
    He is the operator I am the co-operator!!!

    This is a post I will tuck away and remember often as I journey through the roads of healing.
    Bless you Jenny!

  11. Jenny – just found you through HCB. So good to meet you, and thanks for tackling these tough issues. You go girl!

  12. I used to believe God’s plan A was miracles, but now I know better. Miracles are plan B. Process is the A plan – it keeps us coming to Him and is so much more relationally effective than a quick fix. The greatest healing of all is our understanding of how much we need Him. All the time. Co-operator – yep that’s the word cause that way we’re right there with Him when whatever the problem is eventually bows to Him. Looking forward to your posts this week Jenny.

  13. […] for coming by this week’s series on healing. If you missed yesterday’s post, click here. If you are in the middle of a healing journey… please let me know how I can pray for you […]

  14. I love this, Jenny. That we cannot heal by our own command… that God is the healer. I’ve only just realized this.

    You’re right. Our hearts are on the same wave length.

  15. […] Posts I have sadThe Partnership of HealingJenny who? Will They Laugh if I Call You Daddy? Growing Up With a Gay Father: Day 1Primal: A Quest […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

