Posted by: JennyRain | July 13, 2010

Celebrating on the Right Side of the Jordan

Why do you think God waits for us to take the first step?

I am a part of a group studying Plan B over at TamTam’s site (InProgress) and that was the question she asked about the last chapter.

I avoided her question for the better part of a week…

There are days I find myself edging up to the tide to take my own Jordinian step.

My toes crunch into the sand, urging me forward, but my body holds me captive as I wait for the water to reach the tips of my toe-skin.

In Jordinian experiences, God does not tell us to stand stationary in the sand until the water peels around the sides of our feet.

Nope. Because then we are tempted to stay and wait for the next tide, sinking in place as the water rushes back into itself.

So I smooth back the edges of my skirt and uncurl my right foot water-ward. With body still stationary, I peep my right big toe forward to graze the water hoping that a touch will cause the water to shrink back, stand at attention, and allow me to cross on dry land.

But the water does not part.

No.

God requires us all to take a decisive step into the Jordan that rages… and not look back.

But…

Before we take this step, He asks us to do something unusual…

Joshua told the people, “Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the LORD will do amazing things among you.” Joshua 3.5

To consecrate means to set apart as holy, to dedicate. To be totally consecrated to God means that “You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself. Luke 10:27”

Consecration is an act of worship to God.

So God says… before you take this next miraculous step, WORSHIP me as if the miracle has already happened.

I have been here before… in this place of consecration and worship…

In 2004, I was flying down to Georgia from DC to interview for a job I had wanted for years.

Arriving at the airport was always fun because I typically stopped by my favorite jewlery store Taxco sterling to purchase a bangle, a shiny ring, or a pair of earrings.

On this particular trip down to Georgia, I saw the store and thought, “I’ll get myself a treat when I get back as a reward for surviving the interview.”

Almost as immediate as that thought entered my heart I felt God say in my spirit, “You need to celebrate My victory BEFORE the interview – not after – you are worshipping Me on the WRONG SIDE of the river.”

Whoa.

Humility crawled up my backside and ran out through my fingertips as the reality of Who I was truly working for embraced me. Crossing this particular river would be done BEHIND the Lord, not in front of Him. If the waters parted for me to move to Georgia, it would be because God had already been there.

“Yes Lord.”

So I purchased a silver cross and wore it all through my interview.

I got the job and it was an amazing turning point in my career. It was that job that landed me on the Katrina relief team that bounced me into ministry. It was that job that placed me on a healing path with God. It was that job where my love of training really took flight.

Each time I see that cross… or travel through the DC airport… or read about the river Jordan, I am reminded of this event in my life.

Maybe you are facing a Jordinian experience and God has asked you to take a step.

If He is requiring this of you, know that He has already been in the water with you… He has already encountered and conquered the waters… and He is already making a way for you to walk through on dry land…

 So when the people broke camp to cross the Jordan, the priests carrying the ark of the covenant went ahead of them. Now the Jordan is at flood stage all during harvest. Yet as soon as the priests who carried the ark reached the Jordan and their feet touched the water’s edge, the water from upstream stopped flowing. It piled up in a heap a great distance away, at a town called Adam in the vicinity of Zarethan, while the water flowing down to the Sea of the Arabah (the Salt Sea ) was completely cut off. So the people crossed over opposite Jericho.  The priests who carried the ark of the covenant of the LORD stood firm on dry ground in the middle of the Jordan, while all Israel passed by until the whole nation had completed the crossing on dry ground. Joshua 3.14-17

Share

Responses

  1. I love this post. Not only was God planning a turning point in your career but threw a turning point for your walk with Him into it. (The second part obviously more important than the first. 😉 )

    Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

    • hmmm… I never thought about that Jason – soooo cool 🙂

  2. such a great post, girl.

    you painted a perfect example of faith walking here

    and i d like to say i am so very proud of you for your obedience. for your trust in Him. what a testimony for us to read.

    brent and i feel as if we’ve been standing on the shore for a couple years. dont know what that means. are we not stepping out in faith to…something (we dont know what that something is yet, honestly, just know its there-waiting) or is it a timing thing, are we being prepped?

    we really just dont know.

    prayers are appreciated, that for sure i know.

    • You guys’ story has given me so much hope… knowing that even if I’m standing on the shore, I’m not alone, others have questions too… thank you friend 🙂

  3. “you are worshiping Me on the WRONG SIDE of the river.” I catch myself holding my breath until I get to the other side and even waiting to breathe deeply until I know whether I have victory or not.

    Breath deeply now. Worship now. Rejoice NOW.

    There was a sermon I heard recently about just that. We will see the glory of the Lord after he has passed, but until then he shields us in the cleft of the rock because we could not handle the fullness of his glory. Like you said “it will be because he has already been there” He goes ahead of us to prepare the place.

    Thanks Jenny!!!!!

    • Yes, I think I stop breathing too….

  4. The shoreline is safer. But it allows one to think too long. There are too many things to think about in our small minds. I know my small mind keeps me bonded in mistrust, logic, and discouragement. Grr!

    I am slowly stepping in. NeedtoBreath has a great line that says, “in your ocean, i’m ankle deep.” I get that visual so well. What i want is vast, where I stay is dry and safe.

    • Vast works for me too… but then there are so many things, possibilities, which sometimes causes me to become more anxious… if we would just jump in…

  5. Oh. My. Like really. Wow.

    Yesterday, I glanced quickly at this portion of scripture, passing it by moving on to another passage. In an instant I felt a tug to study the Jordan…I’ll get to it….(sigh) and last night I asked my husband one question: “Do you believe God can make our marriage better than it once was?…”

    We both have to get to a point where we believe God at His Word…and then to live like it!

    • OOOO – I love it when God does that 🙂 sooo cool 🙂

      Step into the Jordan girl… grab your hubby’s hand and step in… and Praise God that He brought you back to the Jordan today – He is able!!

  6. So, this made me burst into tears today, in a good way~ exactly what my hubby and I have been feeling lately regarding some decisions we need to make that are life-altering in a big way.

    Thank you!

    And LOVE Plan B as well 🙂

    Blessings,
    Lindsey

    • Oh no! Keep me posted… would love to pray for you guys as you step forward too… I’ll keep the virtual kleenex handy 🙂 In all things… God is good!

  7. I love how 40 years prior to Joshua hitting the Jordan- Moses has a different experience in crossing the Red Sea. Exodus 14: “13 Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. 14 The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

    15 Then the LORD said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the Israelites to move on.”

    Moses is telling the people how they need to have faith. He is saying all the right stuff and God is like- “Come on now man. I have stuff to do. I need to act. Stop talking- I am just going to show up.”

    Then 40 years later with a group that only 2 people have any recollection of the actual crossing. The rest were either children or not born when it happens- and God says-” Here is the Jordan at Flood Season- Go get IN to the water.” Moses rose his arm and saw God act.
    Joshua has to send the priest in.
    To the middle of the river.
    In Flood season.

    Sometimes we get to see it part ahead of us. Like God telling you about the jewelry. “I got this Jenny. Let me act.”

    Other times we have to set ourselves apart and actually step out. When it doesn’t make any sense at all. We have to just believe that God will be who he says he is.

    He works both ways. It reminds us just how powerful of a God we serve.

    Plan B- is like my new FAVORITE book- I love it when he talks about this subject…

    • I KNOW! This was the scripture God gave me as I was contemplating the move to GA 6 years ago… He told me two things – “own the decision” and “stand still and see the deliverance of the Lord” 🙂

      Leneita – you have to come over to Tam’s blog and join us in the online discussion – she is doing an online community group doing one chapter a week – her site is http://www.taminprogress.com 🙂 She posts every tues or wednesday and we have a discussion – it is so cool 🙂

  8. Jenny,
    Great post, I wrote you a long note on it earlier and then clicked “logout” instead of “submit”. I hate it when that happens. Anyway your post is the second time today I have heard a message about crossing the Jordan. I don’t believe in coincidences, so when that Happens, God is sending me a message.
    I have spent many years standing at the edge with my toes on dry land, afraid to enter. When I finally went in, I dove head first and the rest is history, it was so freeing. Thanks for this post sister, now lets see if I can click the right button. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

