Posted by: JennyRain | July 6, 2010

Love and Respect, errr, or maybe not

What does love and respect in action look like?

Last week, I had the immense pleasure of hosting Dr. Emerson Eggerichs who told us first hand what it should look like. After reading his post, I better understood what this stuff called love and respect was all about…

This week, I have the antithesis of love and respect as an example. If any of you watched, sat through, endured the Jake and Vienna bachelor breakup interview, likely you were as horrified as I was to discover that:

1 – Vienna has no respect for Jake
2 – Jake has no love for Vienna

Whose fault was it? Where did this infamous love of lack and respect start?

Some say it’s Vienna’s fault because of her oh-so-obvious lack of communication skills… others say Jake is a ticking-time-bomb with narcissistic tendancies.

Vienna called Jake a “liar” and Jake responded in kind by saying he was “disgusted” with Vienna.  Vienna was an emotional mess, and Jake sat glaring at her with what appeared to be a condemning sneer.

What started as such a beautiful love story has gone down in flames… all because of a lack of love and respect…

Oh well, at least Jake still has his TV career.

Share

Responses

  1. I didn’t even know they had done this live interview, and I am so happy I didn’t see more. This makes me sick to my stomach…on a number of levels.

    • It gave me the willies… when he raised his hand and shouted “stop interrupting!” I got the shivers. I’m still having a really negative reaction to him and I used to be a huge fan.

      yukky.

      • I thought he handled himself well despite her. I could not have kept my composure with someone constantly interrupting and accusing me. I didn’t see anything wrong with him finally telling her to stop. Being married I push my husband to the point of anger sometimes and it reflects my attitude.

  2. Watching this video clip made me nauseous. I have to go and shake off the yucky feeling… It’s awful, but in reality lots of relationships – Christian or not Christian, camera or no camera – end exactly like this. How does one heal from an experience like that without God? Blech! As I look at them I wonder how often do I have that kind of smug, disrespectful attitude? I might not be as bad as Jake, but I certainly am not guilt free, which is why I pray several times a day, “Lord, create in me a clean heart, and renew a right spirit in me. Cast me not away from thy presence, oh Lord. Take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore in my the joy of thy salvation and renew a right spirit in me!” Constant is my need for forgiveness. Does my sin turn God’s stomach the way this video turned mine? UGH.

    • so true girl…I thought about that too… like how many times have I been spoiled like Vienna or contemptuous like Jake. Agreed… I think however, that there was something more that I couldnt’ put my finger on w/them that made the hair on the back of my neck rise … creeeepy.

  3. Sadly this is relationships in America (the world) today. Relationships aren’t give & take. They are give, and solely give. I would deserve to be “voted off” if I treated my husband or a friend or any person I am in a relationship with that way. It really disgusts me that people treat each other that way.

  4. I didn’t watch that season of the show… so I’m out of the loop when it comes to their relationship. But after watching that little clip, I could see exactly what you were talking about ~ The lack of love and respect was clear.
    So sad that the majority of relationship are lacking those to primary needs.

  5. wow! I watch it and I felt so bad for both of them and for all of us who had to come to the true reality behind the “reality shows”! For me the tables turned… this interview definitely highlighted the importance of true love and respect in a relationship.


Leave a Reply

Categories

