Posted by: JennyRain | June 15, 2010

Trafficking: From the World Cup to your Back Yard

olympics
world cup
superbowl
atlanta
your back yard

That is where trafficking is happening. Right under your nose.

 

“Numbers” – Child Exploitation & Sex Trafficking PSA from Ron Dawson on Vimeo.

I first became aware of this issue during a seminary class in Atlanta.

Because of the size of Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, Atlanta has become a seedbed for origination, transfer, and destination trafficking. Several churches in the Atlanta area have woken up to this reality and are choosing to do something to make a difference.

These brave churches are choosing to rescue children from this horrific practice.

One child at a time.

We can do something too.

Trafficking is on my heart this week because of the World Cup and because this post has rocked my comfortable little existence.

Did you know that there are an estimated 40,000-100,000 young women being trafficked to South Africa for the World Cup.

Wha? What?!?

Forty to one-hundred thousand? Are you kidding me?!?

40,000 is the size of my college university.
100,000 is the size of a football stadium.

All.Being.Trafficked.

For sex. Against their will.

Where is the humanity in this? Where are the aid agencies?

Where are all of the churches?

Less than nothing. That is what we as the church are doing about this problem.

 Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
       to loose the chains of injustice
       and untie the cords of the yoke,
       to set the oppressed free
       and break every yoke?

  Is it not to share your food with the hungry
       and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—
       when you see the naked, to clothe him,
       and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood? (Is 58.7-8)

Take a moment to pray today for these young kids who have been ripped and stolen against their will and taken to South Africa.

Kids who will not be visiting Africa to see the World Cup, but rather, will be raped, demoralized, and then carried to the next destination where the horror will begin all over again for them.

And after you pray, choose to DO SOMETHING.

Educate one other person today.
Choose to become involved in a ministry that rescues trafficked kids.
Dedicate a portion of your prayer time to praying for these kids every day.

 

JUST.DO.SOMETHING.

 

 He who shuts his ear to the cry of the poor, will also cry himself and not be answered ( Pr 21:13)

Share

Responses

  1. Great post. 🙂 Thanks for helping to raise awareness.

  2. […] Wert and Jenny Rain Schmitz for bringing this to my attention again this morning with this post and this post. Now that you know, what will you do to make a difference? Will you join the fight? […]

  3. I live in Atlanta and I first heard about this earlier this year and it really troubled my heart that this is taking place minutes away from where I live. The numbers concerning the world cup are even more troubling. I really wish there was more that I could do. I knew of a ministry here, but I lost touch. Do you have any links with further information? Definitely going to retweet. Everyone needs to see this.

    • see the post above, there were three links posted… also go to http://traylorlovvorn.com/?p=740 – Traylor has listed some additional links. And also http://jcwert.com has several links on his site. Still waiting to hear back from my friend from ATL for Atlanta specific links… stay tuned!

  4. keep on preaching it.

  5. this has been happening for quite some time. The last world cup in germany was flooded with enslaved prostitutes. i know of many european church workers that went out to pray, raise awareness, and assist in rescue efforts.
    I really appreciate you utilizing your blog to bring more awareness. I would disagree that the Church is doing less than nothing, but no contest, we are not doing enough. I didn’t see any resources sited in case readers wanted to help so I thought I’d add some;)

    http://www.thea21campaign.org/
    http://www.stopthetraffik.org/
    http://www.demiandashton.org/

    • Awesome! Wish I would have seen this earlier – you got placed in my spam folder. I thought about resources after I had posted, so I’m glad that you linked to some. Thank you so much for adding this, I appreciate it 🙂

  6. Jenny, Thank you for sharing this. I know we would all like to think this sort of thing only happens elsewhere, not in the good old US of A. Awareness that it is a problem here, too, is only the first step. I “shared” your post on Facebook so hopefully a few more people will know and get involved. Peace, Linda

    • Linda – thank you for reposting!

  7. Thank you for this post…. had no idea this was going to be happening “right under my nose” and I even live in SOuth Africa with my husband at the moment. I will be praying. Thank you for your heart!

  8. […] I read a blog about human trafficking that brought me to tears. Evil people use deception to lure young women and […]

  9. […] week we fell into a discussion about my trafficking post and I was astonished to learn that none of these sweet, caring ladies had ever heard of human […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

