Posted by: JennyRain | June 4, 2010

Friday Favorites: Round 7

Thanks High Calling Blogs for your series “We are Real”

This is a repost of a blog from June because I wanted to share with all of the folks at HCB some of the wonderful online experiences I’ve seen happen. Click on the icon below to see the “We are Real” post

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network

Welcome to Round 7 of my edition of the Friday Follow (#FF)

As y’all know, each Friday I choose three of my favorite OPB’s (Other People’s blogs) from the week and share them.

I have been profoundly impacted by the power of my social media community and how it is reaching out to encourage, edify, uplift… and quite honestly to BE the church in our world.

It continues to amaze me how God can reach across cyberspace to touch hearts and change lives.

1 – When Blog Friends become Real Friends: Mary @givinguponperfect. Mary posted at one of my favorite sites (In)Courage about one of my favorite topics – online community. Think this community of online tweeps can’t become real community? Think again. When I was reading this post by Mary I wanted to jump up and down and say “Yes! So true! Yes!” because I have experienced first-hand the power of online community becoming real community and walking with me in this thing called life. Mary blogs regularly at http://givinguponperfect.com

2 – Rest Well: Tam @InProgress: Tam is part of the West Coast crew of bloggers I follow. Her heart for people and her humor is beautiful. Tam will give you the shirt off her back. Tam is also dealing with some medical struggles right now. Well, this week, her online community banded together to provide her with a tangible blessing. Her story is featured in Rest Well. This is how community is supposed to work and I LOVE it. This summer I am part of a group who will be participating with Tam in an online book study of Pete Wilson’s Plan B. I am excited!  Tam blogs regularly at http://taminprogress.com

 3- Family Ties: Alece @gritandglory. Alece and Tam’s story are very similar. Alece’s community came alongside of her in a powerful way this week too. Further, Alece is currently on a Friendraising tour out on the West coast where her once-only-online friends are all the folks who are now real-life-friends and hosting her and helping her on this tour. Alece blogs regularly at http://gritandglory.com

4 – The Power of Community: Jason @JCWert. Jason too talks about some of the cool stuff happening in online community. But more he talks about the importance of community and how every single one of us needs community because we were designed for community. It’s a great reminder to us all of the power of community. Jason blogs regularly at http://jcwert.com

So who else do I read?

This is the list… to date… but I LOVE learning about new blogs, so if you know about cool blogs (or have one yourself) give me a shout out in the comments – I’ll add you to my list!

 
An Idol Heart (Grant)
Annie Blogs (Annie)
Best Days of My Life (Sarah)
Big Toe People (Kris)
Bring the Rain (Alicia)
Blessed Dad (Jim)
Chad Markley (Chad)
Come & See (Tracee)
Dirty Girls Ministries (Crystal & Sarah)
Everything Happens for a Reason (Tonya)
Fearless Flying (Bailey)
Find me…The Real me (Heidi)
Flowerdust (Anne)
GitzenGirl (Sara)
Giving up on Perfect (Mary)
Grit and Glory (Alece)
The Gypsy Mama (Lisa-Jo)
Heart-and-Home (Ashleigh)
Holy Handmaiden (Courtnee)
(In)Courage (Team blog)
InProgress (Tam)
Jenni Clayville (Jenni)
JJJourney (Sarah Rachel)
Jonathan Pearson (Jonathan)
Joshua R White (photos) (Joshua)
Just Sayin (Lindsey)
JoshDevine.com (Josh)
Leading and Loving It (Team blog)
Leading in Shades of Gray (Jenni)
Living Dilbert
Love and Respect NOW (Joy)
Love is an Orientation (Andrew)
Love Wins (Elora)
Lysa TerKeurst (Lysa)
Mandy Thompson (Mandy)
Mary Jo Hess (Mary Jo)
Mauldin Family Diaries (Candice)
My Cup Overflows (Patricia)
My Heart Resonates with a Glorious Sound (Jessica)
My Living Canvas (AnnieLaurie)
People of the Second Chance (Mike & Jud)
Pre Middle Age (Cole)
Prudy Chick (Prudence)
Rachel Olsen (Rachel)
Ryan Spilhaus (Ryan)
Ragamuffin Soul (Carlos)
Rainbow Gulf of Love (Gladwell)
Refine Us (Trisha and Justin)
(RE)made (Adam)
Reflections of a Ragamuffin (Traylor)
Robyn W. Buxton (Robyn)
Run-a-Muck (Amber)
Sarah Markley (Sarah)
Shaun Groves (Shaun)
Sheryl O’Bryan (Sheryl)
Spin-the-Axis (Jason)
Spur (Kristie)
Stuff Christians Like (Jonathan)
Taza and Husband (Kingsley the bulldog)
There is a time under heaven (Manda)
TimSchraeder.com (Tim)
Treasures of My Heart (Melissa)
T. Suzanne Eller (Suzie)
Thoreau-Bred Baby (Kelli)
Tom Davis (Tom)
What Matters Most (Melanie)
Walter the Pug (Walter)
What’s up with the Werts? (Amy)
Whittaker Woman (Heather)
Without Wax (Pete)

Share

Responses

  1. girl, i am still in awe of how this community pulled together for brent and me like that. honestly still shaking my head.

    thank you for being a part of it too. i just love how we’ve gotten to know each other. hoping to meet some day too! now THAT would be so perfect!

  2. oops. my old blog addy is attached to the above comment. i have been terrible about changing to the new one. this is why i keep brent around. mmhmm.

    • I changed it to reflect your new one girl 🙂 love ya!

  3. Thank you so much for linking up to me! I am so glad to have “found” you!!

    And wow, that post of Tam’s blew me away. What an amazing group of people!! I love even being on the fringe of that community!

  4. This is weird…I’ve tried to comment three times to thank you for the link and it doesn’t show up.

    Your comment system doesn’t like me.

  5. love your #ff posts =]

  6. i am continuously blown away by the family God’s placed me in —- i’m so glad we’re in the same one, jenny-girl!

  7. I’m still getting used to this idea that online friends can translate into IRL friends. I was bummed to miss seeing Alece while she was 20 minutes from my house, but I’m looking forward to other opportunities of seeing her and other online friends in the future. The online community really can be so supportive, encouraging and life-impacting. Loved this FF post! 🙂

    • Thanks girl! Hey how is that baby doing? How are you? Have been following your tweets and lifting up prayers for ya!

  8. Oh, and you have Chad Markley on your list, but not his wife Sarah. I love her blog! Another one I also read regularly is the Faith Barista, Bonnie Gray. She’s always encouraging & inspiring!

    • Great catch – I can’t believe I didn’t have Sarah on there – I read her all the time. I wonder who else has mysteriously fallen off the list… eek…

  9. What a great idea for Fridays 🙂 Off to reading those amazing posts!

  10. I’ll have to check out all these blogs for sure! Being relatively new to the blogging world, I’m on the look out for blogs that capture my attention.

    • Welcome to the blogging world! It is such a joy! This list of blogs will keep you encouraged and inspired – I can tell you that 🙂 Enjoy your journey and I will be by to visit your blog very soon 🙂 Blogging is rewarding…

  11. I’m not on the list? Boo! 🙂

    • y’uns been added! Sorrry girl 🙂

      • Yessss! (said like Napolean Dynamite). That’s what I am talking about.

  12. Why, this is fantastic! Thanks for sharing all of this “realness” with us over at High Calling Blogs–these stories from your life, where bloggers overlap in such tangible and significant ways, is exactly what we want to be discussing.

    • I linked out my Friday Favorite to y’all today 🙂 Hopefully you’ll have some new signups over at HCB!

  13. So glad you joined us, and were on the same page before we were! 🙂

  14. […] The Beauty of Online Community […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

