Posted by: JennyRain | June 3, 2010

Electronic Encouragement: Technology and Community

Yesterday I had that my-stomach-is-all-tied-up-in-knots kind of stressed day.

The kind that electrifies your ears with warmth and makes your heart pound even at 10:30pm.

My heart was hurting, bad.

By God’s grace I was ridiculously busy, so the stress acted as raw-energy to propel me through my day.

I love a busy day.

But the hurt was still lurking beneath the surface, waiting for 5pm when it could resurface.

When I got home I logged on to my computer – as per usual – and opened my WordPress account.

My mouth dropped…

At the end of the post were scads of encouraging comments, people saying they were lifting me in prayer, others offering a pick-me-up pep talk, and others helping me get my eyes refocused on God. I had emails, tweets, texts, every form of electronic encouragement technology has to offer.

I was HUMBLED.

I was teary-eyed knowing that in my really, really difficult wrestling, people did not run away from the struggle… and from me, they ran TOWARD me.

An embrace. A word. A hand. A hug…

Just by being PRESENT… y’all were the church.

When I needed it most.

It has made all the difference in the world to me.

Thank you.

I wonder what we as a community of faith – an electronic community of faith could do for the world if we took time to…

Be present

Notice the need

Offer a helping hand

So the churches were strengthened in the faith and grew daily in numbers…Acts 16:15

How have you experienced the beauty of online community ministering to you in the last year?

 

Share

Responses

  1. So many people underestimate the power of social media and social networking. A lot of times people will be more apt to pray and encourage someone they see on the computer because you’re put in front of them.

    I’m glad you have this kind of online community to be there to support and uplift you.

    • Thanks Jason, me too. I’m glad you are part of that community too 🙂

  2. This is an amazing community that we share in. So glad to here that we as a community were able to give you a lift when you needed it.

    • I totally agree… y’all were SUCH an encouragement… my heart is still smiling… thank you 😉

  3. Jenny,
    Praying for you and John. He will show you the light at the end of the tunnel.
    God Bless
    Jim

  4. I can’t even begin to tell you. The prayer coverage is awesome and humbling. The come-along-side friends are such an encouragement. Sometimes they help discern God’s will. Often, I get much needed advice. Take the friend who introduced me to red raspberry leaf tea because my monthly cramps hurt so badly that I lost a day and a half of my life…all because I learned that ibuprofen and tylenol can be linked to infertility and I decided to do life naturally. Thank GOD for that red raspberry leaf tea. It works! I have even met a few of the precious blogging friends in person this year. 4 to be exact. I hope to meet a few others if/when we move to England, and I hope to meet one who is like a little sister to me next time we visit Steve’s family in Michigan. She’s the most solid prayer coverage around!

  5. And today, when I opened my email… you Ms. Jenny were the church to me.
    Bless your heart!!!
    xo ~Manda

    • Yaaay! Just saw it and I will definitely be praying 🙂

  6. […] week I have been profoundly impacted by the power of social community and how it is reaching out to encourage, edify, uplift… and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

