Posted by: JennyRain | June 1, 2010

Unwrapping Gratefulness…

I am choosing to unwrap gratefulness this week.

Because I GET to.

Not because its necessarily where I am at right now.

I am choosing to unwrap gratefulness because…

This choice is a spiritual discipline for me, it does not feel natural.
I want to remain obedient to God’s command to “Rejoice!
Because daily gratefulness gives me victory over the walls of oppression that threaten to suffocate LIFE from my spirit.

I am choosing to see God’s faithfulness in my life this week…

Talks with John this weekend where I felt like we were both connected to the conversation.
Time to talk with my mom on Sunday.
A day spent at Dad and Dencil’s yesterday at an old-fashioned memorial day feast.
A special conversation I had with my mother-in-law last night where she just said all the right things.

I am thankful for family.

There is goodness in the simple things

Yummy leftovers in the fridge that John left me before he went to his conference.

Lighter traffic on the way to work because Summer has started in DC

But the most profound joy I find in my life has to do with God’s faithfulness over the last ten years.

My divorce was not the end of me, rather, that marriage woke something up in me that is still blooming today. It caused me to find myself.

I will not die but live and proclaim what the Lord has done.

When I most needed it, God placed a church-family in my life to minister and care for me. When I felt most alone…they were there.

Then Elisha prayed, “O LORD, open his eyes and let him see!” The LORD opened the young man’s eyes, and when he looked up, he saw that the hillside around Elisha was filled with horses and chariots of fire.

My life’s course has been radically and wonderfully altered because the pain I’ve experienced has caused me to pursue healing in God.

He sent forth His word and healed them.

God’s deliverance is not just for a moment, but a lifetime. My life attests to this fact.

in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us…

So just for today, I will choose to think on things that are good.

Things that are noble. Things that are true. Things that are right. Today I will choose to be grateful for these things.

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

Share

Responses

  1. Sounds like God’s done a lot of great things and blessed you in so many ways!

  2. I just recently subscribed to your blogs and this one was so timely for me! Thanks for the reminder to be thankful 🙂

  3. Seems to me you are finding JOY in the smallest things! Choosing JOY isn’t always easy. You know, pity party poopers & all that!

    I had about 30 days clean when a young girl (24 at the time) was sharing on gratitude. She was thankful for nail polish. So she could polish her toenails. This just blew me away. Something that is seemingly insignificant to me, means the world to her. I take soooo much for granted. That old “take time to stop & smell the roses” means I need to slow down & thank God each day for all the treasures that are my life. From the nail polish to the food on my table. From gas in my car to get to a 12-step meeting to the bed I can lie in tonight. The little things to the big (ummm, I don’t know, like Jesus died for me!). God provides it all. And not always when I think it’s time! Darn it!

  4. I don’t have a profound comment or huge thoughts. I just wanted to let you know that I read this, you were heard, and I care. I’m so thrilled to have subscribed to your blog.

    • love my bigtoepeople friend … thank you

  5. You
    make
    me
    smile.

    (I need that)

  6. jenny ~

    i read, and look forward to, your posts every day…but this one…well i sent it out to several. thank you for sharing your heart each and every day.

    christy

    • awwww – thank you 🙂 I’m so glad it encouraged you… thank you for being part of the community here. Big hugs 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

