Posted by: JennyRain | May 24, 2010

He will carry me…

I had planned a different post for today.

Then I read three of my friends posts… these three friends are carrying some heaviness right now.

Heaviness of LIFE
Heaviness of SPIRIT
Heaviness of HEART

So rather than talk about me, my thoughts, my concerns, my problems, my joys… I want to invest in my three friends who are carrying this heaviness. I know what it is to feel like you are carrying life all on your own so…

I want to remind my friends that they are not alone.

I want to encourage my friends’ hearts, lives, and spirits.

I want to share with my friends that even though they are carrying a heavy load, GOD is carrying THEM.

He will Carry me (Click here to listen)

I call, You hear me
I’ve lost it all
And it’s more than I can bear
I feel so empty

You’re strong
I’m weary
I’m holdin’ on
But I feel like givin’ in
But still You’re with me

chorus:
And even though I’m walkin’ through
The valley of the shadow
I will hold tight to the hand of Him
Whose love will comfort me
And when all hope is gone
And I’ve been wounded in the battle
He is all the strength that I will
Ever need
And He will carry me

I know I’m broken
But You alone
Can mend this heart of mine
You’re always with me

chorus

And even though I feel so lonely
Like I’ve never been before
You never said it would be easy
But You said you’d see me through
The storm

chorus

 Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you… Mt 11.28-29 MSG

 

Today (thanks to Lisa-Jo 🙂 ) I am joining the Gratitude community because as I wrote this, I was incredibly struck with two things I am immensely grateful for…

#1: The friendship of these amazing women

#2: God reaching down to carry us when we need it the most

holy experience

Share

Responses

  1. It’s great the way you’re so concerned for the hearts of your friends.

    • welcome back friend! And happy anniversary to you and Amy too 🙂 may the two of you be blessed with much abundance this year… abundance in God, in love, and in life in general. It has been so much fun to watch your journey of writing this last week… blessings friend!

  2. Oh my goodness gracious – Jenny – you just reached through the computer and HUGGED me this morning! What a treasure – thank you beautiful one. And that translation of the same verse I wrote about this morning – that Message translation – I LOVE that! My dad actually has an old ox yoke hanging in the front hallway of my home in South Africa – and he has those very words printed on the yoke. Amazing, beautiful encouragement.

    Thank you!!

    ~Lisa-Jo

    • yay 🙂 just read another post by Ashleigh… made my breath catch… it seems to be one of those mornings… praying for you friend. love u!

  3. Jenny,
    Your posts are seldom about you, you are always lifting someone else up, and you are again today. You are a faithful and Godly servant. God Bless
    Jim

    • You are such an encourager Jim and I sooo very much appreciate you. I see your encouragement on so many different bloggers posts and just wanted you to know that it makes a huge difference in the hearts of so many (like me) – I appreciate you so much!

  4. this post made me smile. 🙂

  5. Ahhhh—I love that command– “learn the unforced rhythms of grace”–so profound. It seems like it should be so easy to do, to learn that, to trust, to rest. Sigh. Thanks for a good post, friend!

  6. For me part of the whole process of my walk with God and my walk in recovery are intertwined. I have learned that when I share my burdens, there is someone there to help lighten the load. I can only explain it as God-sent. Sometimes before I even whisper my prayer. I am powerless over my addiction. My life was unmanageable. The self-centeredness of my soul. It’s just so hard to admit humility sometimes and ask for help! I hate that about myself! I’m better every day, as long as I don’t forget who is really in charge! I am finding such wisdom in this wonderful internet community I am becoming a part of. Thanks for being selfless & sharing what was making your heart heavy.

    • SO true… I have found that too… God is so intimately involved in our healing. And I agree… I have been so blessed by the community of bloggers… so incredibly blessed. God has used them in a powerful way in my own healing process too 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Shellie and for sharing your story… that is what makes this blog encouraging to me – when people risk sharing their stories too!

  7. Thank you so much for my needed hug today! Seriously blessed by your words and heart. thank you!

  8. So blessed that God led me here today…..looks like a place I will be visiting often!

    Peace
    *~Michelle~*


Leave a Reply

Categories

