Posted by: JennyRain | May 21, 2010

Friday Favorites: Round 5

Welcome to the fifth edition of my version of the Friday Follow!

Every Friday I pick three blogs by other people that I have loved following and share them here.

In light of my recent trip to Africa, I wanted to switch things up a little this Friday. Today, instead of highlighting three OPB’s (other people’s blogs), I have picked three organizations in Africa that I believe in and want to share more about. I believe in what these organizations are doing because they all follow similar models that seek to:

“Equip and disciple indigenous leaders from the local church to transform their communities”

1 – Thrive Africa (TA): My friend Alece is the founder and president of Thrive Africa, but that is not why I have chosen to highlight TA today. I am highlighting it because of some connections God made in my heart on my recent Africa trip with my passion (Training) and God’s passion (Reaching the nations). I did not even know until I returned that this is the foundation of what TA does in South Africa!

TA Mission: Our mission is to equip and mobilize indigenous leaders to become strategic, Godly influences in their cultural communities. Our model of ministry is based on II Timothy 2:2: “…Teach these great truths to trustworthy people who are able to pass them on to others.”

 

2 – World Relief – Burundi (WR): My heart was captivated by my time with WR Burundi staff. Ngaira, Trina, and Sophonie will not soon be forgotten and the WRB staff at large made our team’s time in Burundi personally transformative

WR Mission/VisionMission: Empowering the local Church to serve the most vulnerable; Vision: In community with the local Church, World Relief envisions the most vulnerable people transformed economically, socially, and spiritually. 

3 – World Venture (WV): WV is the organization that in 2007 approved me to go to Nairobi, Kenya to finish my degree at NEGST (Now called Africa International University) as a short-term missionary. This is how I met Sheryl who blogged last Friday, and this is where my Africa bug got kicked into high-gear.

Of WV’s 5 global objectives, I have (obviously) embraced number 4 as my “fave”: Equipping Leaders: We train dynamic and passionate leaders—missionaries and pastors, as well as in business, education, government, mass media, the arts and the sciences—well-equipped to make disciples locally, regionally and globally.

I believe SO strongly in their ministry model of “powerful partnerships” because it promotes ecumenical unity and diversity on the field for the purpose of getting things done.

WV Mission: We see people of all nations transformed by Jesus Christ through partnership with his church. Powerful partnerships. Transformed lives.

So, these organizations are my Friday Follows… if you are looking to become more active in World missions, but you cannot go, you can still help. Each of these three organizations has my personal stamp of endorsement because of the work they are doing in Africa and Lord willing, I will have the chance to one-day partner with all three of them in Africa!

Share

Responses

  1. […] original post here: Friday Favorites: Round 5 « Rainmakers and Stormchasers Share and […]

  2. Yay Thrive!!! 😉 (I’m biased. I have no shame in it)

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

