Posted by: JennyRain | May 11, 2010

Neu: Prudence Landis

Welcome to week 2 of the Guest Blogger series at the Rain!

I’m so excited today to share Prudence (aka PrudyChick) with you. Prudence has been a constant encouragement to me as we have gotten to know each other through blogs and twitters. Her heart for people is tremendous… and she loves from all of who she is. It is beautiful.

Her heart makes me smile… a fun aside… as AnnieLaurie (day 1) and I were talking the other day, she too had just discovered Prudychick.com and her comment was, “I really like her!” to which I said, “Me too! She’s good people and has a heart of gold.” Pure gold.

If you are reading this on Tues or Wed (11th or 12th) we are still working with the Pastors in the rural areas of Africa, so please continue to pray that God will use our training to leave behind a bunch of material that the Pastors can use in their congregations and ministry.

Guest blogger, Prudence Landis

Prudence’s blog site: www.prudychick.com

Shawn’s site: www.shawnlandis.com

I’ve really struggled with writing this post.

When Jenny asked if I’d be willing to write a guest blog one day while she was in Africa, I jumped with both feet into the middle of the Pacific Ocean. I just love (relearning to love) writing.

But I’ve struggled with what to write.

Jenny selected the topic of newness and I figured sure I can do that. But over the last week as I’ve thought and prayed about what to write about my mind has been blank. I don’t seem to have a definite newness story. I didn’t have an affair and can now rejoice & celebrate reconciliation with my husband, who proposed to me after we divorced our previous marriage. I haven’t traveled extensively and seeming each new day a new place, a new adventure. My husband didn’t have an affair and leave me. Trusting God as I relearn this newness of single life.

I’m just me living in the same state for 30+ years – married happily to the same man for nine.

What I’ve felt repeatedly – despite going no that’s dumb every time it came to mind – God laying on my heart is a newness of heart and love that He has given me.

A little history.

I grew up in church. Was born on a Thursday probably in church that Sunday. There was never a time I wasn’t in church. Even in my rebellious times when I went simply to get away from my parents. I grew up in traditional church. I wasn’t taught to love exceptionally. I wasn’t taught to live my life as a missionary in my community.

About three years ago God up and decided to change that. He began to blow my mind with what church should be more like, and what being a Christian, a follower of Him actually meant.

Still even now it boggles me.

I’m learning to love, really love. To look beyond the outside. To see the hurting, broken souls that He loves and died for. To see and love them the way He loves them.

This has been so foreign to me. I’m still learning after three years, and will probably be learning 40 years from now. It’s a newness I like. It’s a different fit that my mind and heart are trying to get used to. But I see little changes in the way I react to the homeless guy who showed up during our service on Sunday – my heart breaking for him as I watched his extra weak, skinny legs push his grocery cart after being given some food and being prayed for. Changes in how I view poverty in third world counties, that makes me want to do something though I don’t know what.

18 years ago He gave me a new heart, a redeemed heart. Now He’s remodeling it making it have a new love.

Share

Responses

  1. This is what we were made for, Prudy!

    I love what God is showing you.

    • Thanks Jenni it’s been a struggle at times, but that is what growth involves.

  2. It’s never ending – this “let me take you deeper” adventure with God. I bet this post will really encourage a lot of people Prudy – the ones’ thinking “Is this all there is”? It REALLY IS a journey – and you never know what’s around the corner with Him. Bigger and better is coming for all of us… in His timing and plan… He’s so good!

    • It really is all in His timing. One of these days – when next steps have been stepped – I’ll have to write about these last few years.

  3. It all comes back to Love!!!

    If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

    This is all something we need to hear!
    Bless you!

  4. Oops… forgot to leave the scripture reference (1 Corinthians 13:1-3)

    • Thanks Manda. Loving like God loved us. That’s what’s important.

  5. This is a beautiful newness! I grew up in church, knowing and believing, but as I’ve grown so has my view of what Jesus meant when he asked us to be church for each other… My experience was so restricted before, and it’s been an amazing experience to see more as He sees others rather than how my religion would often judge others. I pray that newness continues for me …

    • I’ve never thought of it that way. That our experience has been restricted. It makes so much sense.

  6. a “dramatic” newness story isn’t any more real, transformative, or miraculous than your own. God’s the author of all new life, and that is where the amazing wonder lies.

    my heart’s hungry for some God-breathed new life…

    • I’m praying for that breath of life for you. And you’re right any newness story is still evidence of God’s ability and handiwork in our lives.

  7. This is the newness that counts . . . and it’s at the heart of the other posts, too, isn’t it? Seeing your spouse through new eyes, eyes that love unconditionally . . . seeing beyond the newness of a first visit to a new corner of the world and loving the unlovely parts of it because unleashed love will make a difference there. Thanks for highlighting the heart of the matter.

    • You’re right Sheryl, if it were for God replacing our old hearts with His marriages couldn’t be healed, learning to trust again couldn’t happen. It’s only because of His grace in us that any of that other stuff could happen.

  8. My “newness” began three years ago as well.

    I have a feeling you & I live parallel lives. Love that I’ve met a twin soul via the internet. 🙂

    • Our God is amazing. Even with things I’m going through now He’s brought people into my life via blogs & Twitter that their current walk is so similar to my own.

  9. I like your newness best of all. I like its everyday appearance that hides a kingdom bold charge. Yes, I like this look of newness on you very much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

