Posted by: JennyRain | April 30, 2010

Dear John: A letter to my sweetie

Dear John,

My sweet husband, you will not get this until tomorrow in your inbox and by then, I will be flying over Africa.

I pray this is not your typical “Dear John” letter!

First and foremost, I want you to know that as your wife, I could not be prouder of you at this very moment. There is nothing that you could “become” or “accomplish” that could make me love you more. I love you for who you are and the amazing man that God has created.

You are not your job. You are so  much more to the world than what you do. Never forget that.

I know today’s news was difficult, and the timing with me leaving to go to Africa couldn’t be worse. My heart grieves with you, but it also rejoices because your response to this difficulty has left me even MORE proud to be your wife. Who you are becoming, how you are allowing God to work in your heart is stunningly beautiful.

Mark Batterson’s devotional quote this morning truly encapsulates what I have seen you progress through these last few months…

an opportunity isn’t an opportunity if you have to compromise your integrity

When faced with the opportunity to sell out versus fight for your faith, you choose faith. You stood up for Who you believe in, and you did so with integrity and grace – and to know that you have the strength to stand up for the God we both hold so dear to our hearts – it means the world to me as your wife. I’m proud of you for this.

So this too shall pass… we will weather it together… and we will take things one day at a time. Until such time as the next step evidences itself, know that I love you, I am praying for you, and I am SO incredibly proud of the man that you are allowing yourself to become.

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

Love,

Jenny

 

Responses

  1. I’m praying for you guys. Already told you that Jenny. Loves again to you both.

    • tank oo friend 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness, Jenny…. you made me cry.
    Reading your heart for your husband. Oh how beautiful is the two become one.
    Then, as I scroll on down – I see mention of ME. Little me. I am truly honoured, Jenny.
    Bless you, Bless your travels, Bless your Marriage.

    • thank you – i loved your post! it was so good 🙂

  3. You made me cry too, am so glad I have had the oppurtunity to meet you.
    Beautiful 🙂

    • Smile. btw – dude you can JAM on the guitar – amazing stuff 🙂

      • Heh, it was those happy tears (I aint like them other boys!)
        I am a soppy git and aint afraid to admit it… (I will try to curtail the Hallmark-isms tho 😛 )

  4. Beautiful letter. He is lucky to have you. And you are lucky to have him….I’ll be praying for ya’ll.

  5. Love beyond conditions… you have it for your God and for each other. What a gift…


Leave a Reply

Categories

