Posted by: JennyRain | April 27, 2010

Seasons Change

What if this season of your life is over?

What if the season is over and its time to move on?

Time to take a risk.

Find a new path.

Venture into new territory.

Ecclesiastes says that “there is a season for every activity under heaven”


A season for tears… AND… a season for joy.

A new season.

A fresh season.

A season waiting to burst forth in your heart… in your life…

What if the “season of singing has come?”

Will you miss it? Will you still grieve over the lost guitar, or will you get out there and sing without it?

Says He…

“Arise, my darling, my beautiful one, and come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone…”

What will you do with this invitation into a new season?

True, it is risky. Yes, it can be fear-inducing if you allow it to be.

How must the flowers feel at the end of summer as they lose their petals. Do they wonder if they will ever burst forth into radiance again? How must the tree feel as winter approaches and it stands stripped of its leaves… naked against the wind.

Nature does not know when a new season will arrive. Nature does not know if it will have an opportunity to be a part of the new season. But nature knows when to drop its flowers, lose its leaves, and quietly tuck away the old in expectation of the new season blooming.

Nature knows that two seasons cannot fight for the same ground… one must lose for the other to bloom.

You are staring at an empty closet.

Last year’s clothing has been put away.

What will you carry with you into this new season? Will you fill the closet with…

fear of the unknown
shame from past mistakes
bitterness over unfinished memories

Or will you throw open the doors of your closet each morning and put on hope, wrap yourself in faith, and clothe yourself in joy?


You will go out in joy
and be led forth in peace;
the mountains and hills
will burst into song before you,
and all the trees of the field
will clap their hands.

Instead of the thornbush will grow the pine tree,
and instead of briers the myrtle will grow.
This will be for the LORD’s renown,
for an everlasting sign,
which will not be destroyed.

“The season of singing has come…”

Share

Responses

  1. I have a new season coming in three weeks whether I like it or not. I’m hoping I’ll like it but I’m not sure…I guess I’ll find out when I get there. Changing seasons is uncertain and not always fun. I’d love a fun change of season. LOL

    • Jason I am praying HUGE for you and Amy and seriously brother, I can not WAIT to see what God does. I think as far as seasons go… the one y’all are entering into has me the most excited to see how God will work. Will be praying…

  2. Jenny,
    You are God’s poet, and there is much substance to what you write. God Bless
    Jim

    • Jim -you are a daily blessing to me 🙂 thank you so much for your encouragement. You are really a wonderful encourager and for that, I thank you dear brother in Christ 🙂

  3. Holy freakin’………

    That’s all. MM.

  4. Okay, ditto Prudence.
    and..
    I’m facing a season of change. Feeling called towards a new career path within the same field. Already sent off an application in faith for a position perfect for my background and vision. The husband and I are also moving towards foster care/adoption and settling into a home instead of an apartment…mind blowing the necessities needed for this. (read: money) lol.
    Thank you for this post – it was incredibly encouraging.

  5. im singing with all my heart (even if im tone deaf) ha!

  6. This was such a beautiful post Jenny. I love the imagery in it. I think God may be calling me into a new season but its not an obvious one. I want to face it with courage and conviction, wrapping each moment in hope, love and joy. Thank you for sharing these words.

  7. I’m ready! Bring on the new season!!

    Are you busting into a new season?

  8. Hi I found this by accident but just at the right time in my life – thank you x


Leave a Reply

Categories

