Posted by: JennyRain | April 26, 2010

Feeling Safe Again…

I will set [her] in the safety for which [she] longs… psalm 12:5

My heart has been burdened of late for several friends I know who are going through difficult times.

There are a lot of divorces, breakups, and just difficult-in-general times.

Wednesday, I ran across the scripture above.

Or rather, the scripture ran across me, and I went to find where it was in the bible.

The original text says,

“Now I will arise,” says the Lord;

“I will set him in the safety for which he longs.”

The first time I read that scripture, I remember asking, “Is that true? Will God really help me?”

I was going through a difficult time and felt shaky from the inside out.

My days felt like they were built along a fault line that at any moment would crash into the ocean.

Would I ever feel safe again?


I know a lot of my friends are feeling the same way right now. My hands want to reach through the computer screen and pull you into a secure embrace that reassures you of the fact that, “Yes, God will set you in the safety for which you long again. I promise you.”

I want my friends to know that things will get better. I want them to know that they will find safety again. I want them to know that God’s word rings true. Always.

The unsafe situation I found myself in years ago was not fair. It was not right. It was painful.

When I landed on this scripture … “I was forced to restore what I did not steal” (Psalm 69.9)… I realized just HOW unfair things were in my life.

It was not fair that I was dealing with pain and betrayal. It was not fair that I was facing loss when he was on the high of a new relationship. It was not fair that I was dealing with the fallout of some of his bad decisions.

It was not fair.

I was forced to restore what I did not steal.

How do you recover from something like this?

But God.

Stepped into the middle of the situation and redeemed my heart, restored my life, and did indeed set me in the safety for which I have longed for so long.

That is what I would want my friends to know. God is faithful to His word.

I thought this safety would be in the form of a new marriage, it was not, though God has blessed me with a wonderful new husband.

God set me in a safe place long before John came into the picture.

That safe place?

My own heart.


See, I mistakenly thought that the safety I was longing for was something outside of myself. Something that could only be found in family. Something that could only come from another person.

But I was wrong.

Safety is from God alone.

This week as John and I have navigated some rough places, this issue of safety for me, has once again reared its ugly head.

I’ve questioned this concept of God’s faithfulness of setting me in a safe place like He has promised.

I’ve questioned myself. I’ve questioned my marriage. I’ve questioned John. I’ve questioned where safety comes from. I’ve questioned if I really did learn the lessons I needed to before I got remarried.

I’ve wondered – am I in need of as much reassurance as my friends who are dealing with difficult places so perhaps that is why they have all been on my heart so much? I’ve wondered how much of my heart is yet to be redeemed and restored.

I’ve wondered what God is doing in John.

Though I do not know the answers to all of these questions yet, I know that God is faithful. I know that God’s word is true. I know that I have seen more redemption in the last ten years of my life than I ever thought possible.

John and I? All is well. It is well because I am finally well and determined to stay that way.

And though I know our lives will never be fully perfected, we can rest in the promise that God will set us all in the safety for which we long because He alone is our safety, our security, and our Peace.

Share

Responses

  1. i needed this right this very moment. my heart feels vulnerable, exposed, hurting… i long for that place of safety and i too quickly search for it outside myself. and outside God. i want to feel His safety in the deepest part of my heart.

    • praying for you today sister and friend…

  2. I am learning this lesson myself right now. My only safety, security, and peace is in Him. If I look for those things anywhere else, I will be disappointed.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    ~Jennifer

  3. thank you, jenny, this couldn’t have come at a better time. so much i could say. saturday night, after a hard talk w/ my husband, i was hurting deeply. i needed to retreat under my prayer blanket on my knees to find that i am not alone…i am safe…and there is a hope and a future even when i don’t see very far. i will pray for you now.

    • Christy thank you… i’ll be remembering you in prayer too… glad this encouraged you. God is good, through it all, God is good…

  4. Jenny,
    You are an inspiration to many. You are using the time you spent in the dark to guide others from it. While John is a great source of love and happiness in your life, he is not the well from which it flows, God is, and the fact that you know that means God has you in His safe place. God Bless you Sister!
    Jim

  5. Hey Jenny,

    Thanks for this–I have heard a lot about healing lately (i think our ears tune into what we need) and one of the things that stuck with me is that a “cure” is different than healing. I think that healing can be trusting in God’s safety and the truth of his scripture in the midst of us not feeling “cured.”

    Blessings to you~

  6. It is difficult not to look back at a place we’ve been rescued from and be worried that our current situations are going to go that route again.

    First years of marriage are hard. Heck, the eighth year of marriage is hard. I’m lifting you up and covering you beautiful heart & your marriage & your darling husband in prayer.

    • thank you … love you girl… we here at the South wing at my work think you are the Bomb-diggity by the way 🙂 have a couple of girlfriends reading PrudyChick now – we all love your heart 🙂

  7. We can never hear this message enough Jenny. God is faithful! All the time. In the heart, where we live we can have His peace no matter what is going on. It is crazy how we have to be reasured of that like little kids so much of the time. But wait – we are His little kids. 🙂 Helpful post!

  8. Thanks.. I needed this. I have been feeling like a mess lately. Crying a lot over a relationship I lost now almost 5 months ago. Hurting still when I see him, and wishing that so many of my friends weren’t still friends with him. I feel so lost and want to run away (possibly to the Masters College in CA to get a Master’s in Biblical Counseling? It’s not too late for me to apply for the fall…) but I don’t think God wants me to run. I’m just so confused and torn…

    • It is so difficult to know what to do in certain situations… hard to know when to run, when to stay. Hard to know if God is done with a certain season of our lives and is releasing us, or if He needs us there just a little bit longer. There are no easy answers.

      I too tried to finish my PhD in biblical counseling in Cali three years ago… but God wasn’t done w/me in Georgia yet. It was a hard 3 years, but so very worth pursuing God during that time.

      Sweet Alicia, I will be praying for you…

  9. Great post (as always!), Jenny! I think it’s so easy to lose sight of this. I know as a single woman I find thoughts sliding into the “if only I had a husband to . . . ” (this weekend is was handle finances) I would feel like life was more stable. It is in Christ alone my hope is found. He is my light, my strength, my song. This Cornerstone, this solid ground, firm through the fiercest drought and storm. Thanks for the reminder!

  10. I love this. You are so right. God IS faithful and His Word is ALWAYS true.

    He Is the Great Deliverer and the Great Redeemer.

    thanks for sharing


Leave a Reply

Categories

