Posted by: JennyRain | April 19, 2010

Ode to Sticky Notes

This week will be dedicated to pure blog fluff!

We all need a little fluffer-nutter at times so this is it. If you came to the Rain looking for some deep thoughts… click here for your daily dose of make-you-think-too-much-blog-ettes.

But if you need a break from all of the brain-cramping, uber-philosophic-bloggabees, spring off the shallow end and sink your toes into the kiddie pool with me. Next week, back to blogging by the Rain as usual, but this week, it’s all fluff.

Blog fluffer-nutter Day 1:

 

Ode to a Sticky Note

Sticky Note, O Sticky Note,
What would I do without thee, O Sticky Note.
You help me keep my day so organized
And remind me where to be…

You color up my computer screen
Like a bumblebee.

Sticky Note, O Sticky Note,
You stick right by my side
Especially when I sit on you
And you attach yourself to my hide

Sticky Note, O Sticky Note,
Without you I would lose track
Of all of the things I have to remember
In my overflowing paper stacks.

Sticky Note, O, Sticky Note,
You remind me what to do
You help me erganize my thoughts
into binary ones and twos

Yes Sticky Note we share a history
That will not soon be forgot
Like during the training trip to Holland
when asking for a “Sticky” actually meant a stick of pot (true story 🙂 )

Yet, Praise the inventor of 3m Post-Its
From whom all Sticky Notes flow
and bless Art Fry the choir loft guy
who had innovation to make the Sticky Notes grow

Tell me what destiny would await us all
If Sticky Notes ceased to exist
Marriages, friendships, business deal reminders
Indelibly would be less blessed

So thank you O Dear Sticky Note
Second to none you have been
As you have stood beside me as
An assistant, a rescuer, and a dear-old friend.


Share

Responses

  1. Your blog is always a breath of fresh air. Sometimes we just need a break from all the stuff, and we just need to enjoy the moment.

    🙂

  2. That’s hilarious.

  3. Hi Jenny,
    Very funny break from the hard stuff. I always walk away from your site with something good. God Bless
    Jim

  4. hahaha!!! very witty. 🙂

  5. Hooray for the sticky note and your ode to its brilliance!

  6. Lovely!!!

    Wondering what the sticky says on the lady’s head in the last pic. Not tonight?

  7. This made me laugh out loud! I am in the back of a black cab in London. The driver must think I am crazy 🙂

    • Awesome! Go London 🙂 hope you aren’t getting plummeted by the ash cloud 🙂 cheers!

  8. You are so witty. This made me smile. You make me smile a lot. thanks for that.

  9. […] Click here for Day 1. […]

  10. […] if you need a little more funny in your day… Click for Ode to Sticky Notes: Day 1 and An Ally McBeal Tuesday: Day 2 or just read […]

  11. you might like this…my friend mike got “stick note attacked” for his birthday. I’d like to say it was my idea…but it wasn’t….

    http://sevenminusfour.blogspot.com/2010/01/gauntlet-picked-up-still-shots.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

