Posted by: JennyRain | April 8, 2010

Repeated, confirmed, and delivered: Still Speaking…

I am having a scripture morning.

A few days ago I ran into the following two scriptures repeatedly throughout the day.

Unless the LORD builds the house,
         They labor in vain who build it; Psalm 127:1

This was the scripture I sent out as encouragement in the morning, and then when watching the Whittaker’s adoption video Psalm 127:1 was the scripture at the end.

I have always thought of this scripture in terms of “buildings” but in this case, the Whittaker family used it to refer to building a family. It was beautiful.

It brought new meaning to the scripture for me.

The other scripture was Psalm 46:10

Be still, and know that I am God; Psalm 46:10

Ran across this one twice in less than seven minutes and simply reading it reduced the anxiety in my heart.

I love it when I am reminded that scripture is still speaking, it is alive, and it has something to say.

Sacred scripture – to me – speaks so beautifully.

The Bible is like God’s love letter to me, His fingerprints on my daily path, His reflection of a life well lived in Him. It is how I hear from God… through His word. It is how I commune with Him, connect with Him, get to know Him.

It is like this amazing resource that we have as followers of Christ. A guidebook. A playbook.

Daily time in God’s word – to me – is so special because it feels like I am spending time with the Creator of the universe Himself.

So many times in my life I can point to where God’s word has been right on time to calm my nerves, meet a need, give me an answer, or confirm a path I am on…

For example, when I was married the first time, the ex used to stay out late, drinking, a lot. There were nights he did not return home until 6am the next morning. For two years because of anxiety, I did not sleep worrying about where he was, what he was doing, and whether or not he would get home alive.

Every car that drove by the window, every bump, every sound shook me awake like a crack of thunder and I would bolt upwards in the bed, anxiety flooding my body, heart pounding, and palms sweating. When I realized he was not home yet, my heart would slowly collapse in upon itself.

It was hours before I could fall asleep again, only to be awakened again by the next sound.

Three weeks after the ex moved out – about 2am in the morning – I startled awake when a car blazed by my window with radio blaring. Heart pounding, anxiety flooding my body, I had no idea why he was not home yet…

As clear as day I heard this,

“I have removed out of your hand the cup that made you stagger”

Whoa.

Immediately, peace flooded my body. I never had to worry about him again. Ever.

I took a deep breath and settled back into my pillow and have slept like a baby ever since. That was 9 years ago.

For He gives to His beloved even in sleep...Psalm 127.2

The scripture I heard in the middle of that stressful night was from Isaiah 51.22. I had only breezed over it in an earlier reading and had totally forgotten it was in the bible.

Yet at my moment of need, God brought it back to me. Right on time. Just in the way I needed.

I have countless stories of the specific applicability of God’s word in my life

Like the time I thought I would become a waitress to settle some mounting seminary debt…but God had other plans and led me to this scripture…

It would not be right for us to neglect the ministry of the word of God in order to wait on tables

Pretty applicable, eh?

So… for today, I just wanted to share my love of the scriptures with you… may they bless you as they have me…

Share

Responses

  1. Wow…this is brilliant. It’s amazing how often we forget we have His word so readily available to us. More readily available now than likely at any other point in history…and we rarely run to it.

    • Thanks Jason – the bible is SUCH a rich resource – God is SO good to have left it with us… it is my treasure 🙂 Next to God of course it’s my treasure 🙂

  2. Wow, this is amazing. I love reading God’s Word and it is as though a voice is speaking directly to you.

    Did you know the verses before you heard them? Pertaining to your ex-husband and to waitressing? Or did they just come out of nowhere?

    Sometimes I wish that happened to me, especially when I’m feeling confused and lost.

    • Alicia… I had breezed over them in previous readings… but not enough where I thought they were anywhere near “planted” in my heart, you know? Then God brings them back through an impression, part of a scripture, or the whole thing, or I stumble across it again and it JUMPS out of scripture.

      It happens different ways. The Isaiah 51:22 one I had seen, but it was not alive until that moment. The waiting on tables one from Acts 6 – I had read Acts 6, but had glossed right over that particular part of the verse. Not sure how God brought them back exactly… but I love that He did!

      I am convinced we all have tons more scripture in our hearts than we probably realize… and scripture is alive, so God can use it however He wants. He has done this where He would allow me to read something… and I’ll remember “parts” of the scripture and then go look it up later and it will be directly applicable. Other times I’ll get an impression of a scripture address… go there… and it will say EXACTLY what I need at that moment and it may be a scripture I’ve never seen before (that is my particular favorite way God speaks)

  3. Oh Jenny,

    I love what you have written today. It speaks to me a million times over. God wanted me to read this today because this morning, I was struggling before He spoke to my heart. Your post is just but a confirmation.

    Blessings to you, my sister.

    Gladwell

  4. Jenny, I loved this post. I have countless times when God has done the exact same thing for me. Sometimes giving me the scripture BEFORE the situation and then reminding me of it again when I’m in the middle of it. Thanks so much for sharing these today.

  5. I love it when God brings those words to mind—especially when they’re words we’ve read but not paid much attention to. I’m always impressed with how he floods my mind with music—especially in the morning when I’m not terribly awake. The funny thing is I’m not a music junkie. I like it, but I generally prefer silence. God is more than amazing!

  6. I love the contrast of this one and the previous one – you are so funny.
    Wow, thanks for sharing – makes me want to listen harder for God’s whispers! mel

  7. I LOVE IT!
    WHEN I PRAY IN THE MORNING AFTERI AM DONE READY TO STOP BECAUSE THE TIME TO GO TO WORK I OPEN GOD’S WORD AND HE KNOWS EXACTLY WHAT I AM STRUGLING ABOUT I MEAN EXACTLY WHAT I NEED
    HIS LOVE REALY AMAZES ME!
    YES GOD SPEAK TO US ALL DAY LONG IF WE LISTEN!
    GOD BLESS YOU!
    I PRAY WE ALL GO DIRECTLY TO GOD HE IS NEAR !


Leave a Reply

Categories

