Posted by: JennyRain | April 2, 2010

Captivated by Love

I want to be captivated by love.

That kind of captivation that leaves me breathless…wanting more…enraptured…wrapped up in tidy-knots-with-butterflies-in-my-stomach-love.

The kind of love that I can’t wrap my arms around because it is so BIG. The kind of love when I reach to grasp it my arms skate through it and twirl me around because holding onto it would be like containing the wind.

That kind of love.

There is only one Love that has ever had that impact on me.

It is not my husband, though John’s love is sweet as the summer breeze, and closed-eyes-smelling-lilacs-in-the-spring-refreshing.

Nope. Not even that kind of love.

This kind of Love I want transcends my humanity.

A Love that I cannot grasp or contain, but that is as real as the morning sun rise.

It is a love that captivates and consumes me, but it does not control me.
It is a love that enraptures me, but does not obliterate my being.
It is a love that completes me and calls out of me more than I had the day before.
It encompasses, but does not suffocate.

I have no words for this kind of Love, but I know it exists. I have felt this Love. Tasted this Love.

This love has crashed into me at the most inopportune moments and wrecked me from the inside out.

It is not a second-rate love. It does not require that I crash into it physically like Dave Matthews sings…

Oh and you come crash
Into me, baby
And I come into you
Hike up your skirt a little more
And show the world to me

Not that kind of love.

This Love invites me to offer myself in another way. Fully. Unhindered. Naked. Unashamed.

So I do.

I have very few words to describe this Love.

I just know that every morning when I wake up, I want to taste this Love again. Rest in its Beauty. Surrender to its Grace. Celebrate its knowing of my most deep and intimate places, and my discovery of Who this love is…

That Love… if I were to respond to it… it would look like this…

 


Share

Responses

  1. I want this so badly… with every fiber of my being I want to get to the place that I can experience and know this Love so intimately.

  2. I would love to know that kind of love. I would love to be at a place of knowing that love is for me. one thing to lay down on this good friday. Thank you for the thoughts of dreaming love!

  3. Last night we had community group for church. We were discussing Easter and how easy it is to just allow it to become another day. We rush through life and forget. Forget that it’s important.

    We were praying and singing and in my heart I was just praising Him and the very word “enraptured” was how I felt. Enraptured by His grace. By His mercy. By His love for me.

  4. You touch my heart with your words! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for sharing your gift of writing with us all! It blesses my soul!

    🙂
    Robyn

  5. By the way, just had to share your post on my blog…. hope you dont mind.


Leave a Reply

Categories

