Posted by: JennyRain | April 1, 2010

Clean Houses, New Life, and Easter

I have to confess, I have not thought much about Easter this week.

My life has consisted of an eclectix mix of work, studying, time with John, taking care of a sickly pug, and various meetings.

Little time for reflection on one of the most pivotal events of the universe – if you are a follower of Christ.

So, I guess that makes me a pagan for the week.

*Sigh*

Yesterday morning is when I first started contemplating my oblivity (is that a word?) on this holiest of weeks.

First, I was tremendously touched by the combination of two posts I read back to back… one by Lisa-Jo over at theGypsyMama and the other by Tracee over at Come&See.

Then, my boss sent out a prayer request asking that his staff would really have time to see the Easter season in a new way.

Then, I came home from work and the house was cleaned. Really cleaned, y’all!

The pugs were bathed. The laundry was done. A new retaining wall was holding up the flower buds that were peeking out from the fresh ground. A sassy new rug graced the floor under the pug dishes.

Life was guuuuuud!

Because of all of the cleanness around me, I felt invigorated. Fresh. New.

I had a new energy in my step.

I had a new love for my husband (boy did I! Guys, lemme tell you, if you are a hubby and you clean the house…. va va va voom… it can do things to a woman…. you know what I’m sayin?)

I could breathe easier.

Everyone around me seemed more joyful!

This is Abby Grace's happy face

It was glorious!

Newness. Cleanliness. Freshness. New Life. Bright new beginnings. Hope. Joy.

That is what Easter is really all about.

It is about laying the old to rest and allowing the new to come into Being. Just as we lay Jesus to rest on good friday after He suffered a horrible death at the hands of every one of our sins… so then can we see Him rise in newness three days later.

Jesus took everything that separated us from God and nailed it to a cross.

All of our anger. Our hatred. All of our adultery. All of our addiction. Our slanderous thoughts. Failures. Our lack of integrity. Gossip. Gluttony. Shame. He became those things:

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us (2 Cor 5:21)

Then, when Jesus died. All of that died with Him. Forever. Dead. Never to rise again.

The only thing that now separates us from our Father is our own reluctance to embrace Jesus Christ and what He has already done for us.

And if that were not enough to cause us to do the happy dance….

Then Christ rose again… NEW!

And when He rose, He handed us the opportunity to have a NEW life in Him…

…so that in him we might become the righteousness of God (2 Cor 5:21)

…Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! (2 Cor 5:17)

Because of this one pivotal event, we know that after every Friday we may experience, there will come a Sunday.

Not might. Not could. Not maybe. There WILL come a Sunday.

No ifs ands or buts about it.

Jesus’ life on earth, His death, and His resurrection gives us that incredible promise!

Because He rose… life is guuuud.

We have a new life that gives us a new energy in our steps.
We can breathe easier.
We have a new love for those around us.
We are clean. Fresh. New.
We have a new hope. Joy. New LIFE.

Ok, now I’m thinking about Easter…. this is just TOO GOOD not to think about.

It’s like chocolate, except better. Like cold water on a 105 degree day, except better.

Wow.

Share

Responses

  1. Amen to that. All of it. Especially the part about the effects of a clean house on a wife. And the parts about Easter, naturally.

    Amen!

    • I know girl – seriously! (grin)

  2. Wow, thank you sister for that very uplifting note. I feel encouraged and ready to go, maybe I’ll clean house today, haha.
    God Bless

    • tee hee – you will make your wife’s day! 🙂

  3. I love a clean home… it does invigorate.
    I really like how you drew the parallel in your blog post.
    The only thing with me is that I know I can clean my home (which I do, A LOT), but it’s when I try to clean my own life and heart… that God whispers His constant reminder to me – “I cleaned that up, it’s because of me you are a new creation. Nothing you can do to add to that work.”
    ~Manda

    • That is so beautiful Manda…and so true! thank you for that beautiful reminder 🙂

  4. It’s hard to imagine anything better than chocolate…but Jesus is definitely one of those things.

    I shared this (from your side bar) with my hubby: “Happiness is: coming home to a clean house, clean pugs, laundry done, and new pug rug.” He goes, “what’s a pug rug? A toupee?”

    He makes me laugh. Oh and he empties the dishwasher for me too. What a man. Thanks for the reminder that I need to wash two VERY stinky chihuahuas.

    • bwaaahaa ha haha! that is so funny! tee hee hee!!!! 🙂 love our sweet hubbies 🙂

  5. Love that you are experiencing the freedom of new in you as well as around you! that is so encouraging and exhaling!! Hoping for more days of that for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

