Posted by: JennyRain | March 24, 2010

What Makes the World Seem Ok

When my husband calls me Monkee…

…it reminds me that I will be ok.

I had a bad, really bad, crappy day yesterday.

it was one of those days that made me want to poke my eyeballs out. (or someone else’s – either option would have sufficed)

I’m just sayin!

Things just kept going wrong and my ire was all ire-d-up. I felt said-ire in my body… you know the kind of anxiety that creeps up the back of your neck and into your ears and makes you feel all warm inside, but for all the wrong reasons?

That kind of ire.

I could not shake it.

I tried talking about it…. eating lunch… walking around the building… blogging… changing my scenery… nothing worked. At 7:32pm, I was still ire-d-up.

My girlfriend Ashley called and said, “Gosh. You are really mad. I haven’t heard you this mad in like… well, ever.”

And it was such a minor inconvenience to begin with!

And no I am not pregnant… and yes I am sure of that.

Walking in the house after work it was all I could do not to burst into a million tiny blubbering drops of salt-water-tears.

In the middle of all of this my like-a-fish-out-of-water-with-women-in-general hubby calls me and yells…

MONKEE!

Now, to fully grasp how this sounds, think of the most nasal sound in the world. Accentuate the “uuu” of the O so it sounds like you are saying “munk.” Muunnnnnkkkk… ok now speak “Monkee” out of your nose while lifting your nostrils up like Barbara Eden in I Dream of Jeannie.

Ok, got it? Now squinch your face as you say it. Adds to the speaking-out-the-nose-nasal-ility

Say it with me… Ready… 1.. 2..3… altogether now

MUNKEE!!!

How did you do?

There is even a face that goes along with it… looks like this…

See it? Monkee.

That’s me.

So yesterday at the end of my difficult day, John (aka Gumpee), calls me.

As soon as I pick up the phone he yells

Monkee!!

And my world was right again.

One word. So powerfully redemptive…

How much more redemptive then… are the Divine Words of my Heavenly Father.

*Sigh* *Grateful*

He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD… Deut 8:3

Share

Responses

  1. When I read the first lines of your post, I immediately thought “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” Your post made me smile, too!

    • yay! i’m so glad it made you smile! (and i think i’d like that book 🙂 )

  2. Ahhhh. He knows the words of your heart and soul.

  3. so sweet. your man speaks your heart-language!

    and i am so glad that your day ended better than it started.

  4. How cute!

  5. That is beautiful!!! Words only you and he can say that brighten each other’s day.

  6. Oh gosh, love love love this! There’s nothing like the short hand love languages between husband and wife. Beauty personified.


Leave a Reply

Categories

