Posted by: JennyRain | March 23, 2010

I am Not My Story

This has been the month of story.

It has been beautiful around the blogosphere as people have taken the risk to venture out and share their stories.

I have been encouraged, uplifted, and inspired in reading the stories of women and men, just like me, who have suffered horrendous disappointment or conquered insurmountable odds and held fast to who they are in Christ through the fight.

Last night as I was pondering this concept of story-telling, I was riveted by a thought I caught traipsing through my brain…

I am not my story.

Wha…t? Huh?

So I followed the random thought to its conclusion… this is what I penned….

I am Not My Story

My story is something that has happened to me.

It is something that I have been a part of… but it is not something that I am.

I am separate from my story. Distinct.

This distinction is important because the minute I become my story, I give it a life and power it was never intended to support.

My story is something that has – for the most part – already occurred.

((Yes, yes I know, my story is occurring every day, but to get to the point at which my story is self-sustaining, it has to have a significantly robust history. The fact that a story could become something identity-defining means – for the most part – it has already happened to me.))

In contrast, I am something that is in the process of occurring, every minute of every day. I am not static. I am dynamic and evolving.

My story cannot be changed but I can change.

The minute I become my story, I lose the ability to define who I am by anything other than the role I play in my story.

I also lose my ability to participate in a bigger story – the Divine Story – because I am trapped in my own smaller boundary-delimited plot.

My story is a very important part of who I am and who I am becoming. But my story does not define me, I define it.

My story is a gift. My story is an opportunity.

I give my story words. God gives my story breath and life and timing.

My story points to someOne beyond me.

That is why…

I am not my story.

Could be way too many deep thoughts for this early in the morning… but as I grapple with sharing my story and watch others wrestle with what this means, this was an important boundary line for me to draw.

I hope that we all keep telling our stories because it is freeing. Our stories honor God’s testimony through our lives and help point people back to Him…

Many of the Samaritans from that village committed themselves to him because of the woman’s witness: “He knew all about the things I did. He knows me inside and out!” (John 4.39 MSG)

Share

Responses

  1. We are not our past. So very important.

  2. i needed that reminder. thank you, jenny-girl.

  3. When I read this, I immediately began shaking my head, AMEN SISTER! This year I shared my past of being sexually abused with my parents and now even my teenager. IT WAS THE MOST FREEING thing I have ever done! Satan can’t hold that “deep dark secret” over my head anymore! I CAN YELL to the mountain tops “I AM A SURVIVOR!!!”

    I am NOT my story, but I am becoming a beautiful, encouraging, unlifted, saved, inspired and loved woman!!!

    My story is JUST beginning! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

