Posted by: JennyRain | February 26, 2010

Copy Machine FAIL Friday

Copy machines do not like me.

Well, at least when I’m trying to print anything on legal size or 11×17 paper.

I don’t know exactly when this pre-eminent printing problem presented itself, but it always seems to pop up right before a meeting.

Preparedness has nothing on 11×17 print jobs.

How can you prepare to be ambushed by a three-foot high block of plastic and metal?

There are no classes for office machinery, there is no degree, it is just one of those skills that is mandated.

One should know how to successfully print 11×17 documents after two decades in the work world.

Nothing sends my mood south faster than having to wrestle with a piece of paper and a printing machine. I mean really, can printing an 11×17 spreadsheet really be that difficult of a job?

If that were not punishment enough… said printer will not even copy for me correctly.

Yup, that’s right.

Thinking I could potentially pull a fast one on Mr. Xerox, I attempt to switch my tactics from printing to copying. But alas, my Printing Prince has a mind of its own and refuses to spit out anything beyond a 9 1/2 x 11 piece of paper with only one-quarter of necessary spreadsheet items included.

Did I mention that prior to attempting this job, I had removed all of the 9 1/2 x 11 paper and replaced every tray with 11 x 17 paper?

Yet said printer in question is spitting out standard-size copies.

How does this happen?

After my mental Office Space-fax-machine moment passes…

Wait, still there…

…I attempt to begin the process of printing over, hoping for a different result.

Print. Fail. Repeat. Print. Fail. Repeat.
Borrow neighbor’s copy.
Copy. Fail. Repeat.
           Have copying hissy fit.
Print. Fail.
           Do the printing dance. Fail.
Copy. Fail. Repeat. Print. Fail.
           Engage in the enthusiastic verbalization of sentence-enhancers.

So I then willingly reluctantly call the awaiting Copy Center who has been waiting for my call and they get said print-job completed in under 7.5 minutes.

On the same printer.

Do you have those things in your life that just do not seem to work, no matter what you do?

You put the same amount of effort into finding solutions, you do the same things that everyone else does, but for you – that certain “thing” in your life remains inoperable stubbornly resistant to change broken.

For me, its attempting to print or copy anything on 11×17 paper. It may seem like a small inconvenience, but this minor failure of completion sends my mood spiraling downward faster than an otter on a mud-slide during a monsoon.

And until I resign humble myself and ask for help, my un-conquered 11×17 printing job stares me in the face like a royal failure.

Such a simple solution – asking for help. One would think that it would be an automatic response to difficulty, but so often it is the last thing we are willing to do.

Two are better than one,
       because they have a good return for their work:

 If one falls down,
       his friend can help him up.
       But pity the man who falls
       and has no one to help him up!

Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
       But how can one keep warm alone?

 Though one may be overpowered,
       two can defend themselves.
       A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. Ecc 4.9-12

 

Share

Responses

  1. wow. a simple but profound lesson…lol resign, versus humble, etc……exactly. yeppers. that would be me. 😦 this one really spoke to me. Thx Jenny.


Leave a Reply

Categories

