Posted by: JennyRain | February 23, 2010

A Prophet in Their Own Mind

There are times in all of our lives where we have to choose to speak a hard word.

It is not a word that we would have chosen ourselves, but it is a word birthed out of a deep place of intimacy and prayer that has grabbed ahold of us and will not let go until it is verbalized and set free to do its work.

It is a word that has married Truth and Grace and speaks to the cultural context in which it finds itself.

It is a word that finds life only when it is breathed, but causes death to its bearer if it is not uttered.

It is not always the loudest voice, but it is the one that clearly cuts through the static to create a revolution and align the world to the plumbline of Truth.

I am surrounded by a society here in DC that is made up of a lot of “prophets.”

The only problem is that they are only prophets in their own mind. God never called them to this post – they called themselves.

They wear self-made clerical robes of hand-sewn righteousness and demand the favor of the Divine upon whatever decision they call forth. The only problem is, favor is a gift, not a right.  

These false prophets are devastating our churches, our neighborhoods, our schools, and deceiving the next generation.

They teach relativism and call it acceptance…universalism and call it co-existance.

As a follower of Christ, I find myself constantly wondering, “How do I speak into this false creation to catalyze movement towards Truth?”

Or do I?

At the marriage of Truth and Grace, is there a pecking order?

Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect… 1 Peter 3:15

There are times I know that God has placed it upon my heart to embody the difficult word that He would have me to speak – do I have the courage to speak it? Even if it means I lose respect, friends, a job, or even my life?

Do I have the courage to speak the words that are Truth because I have chosen to follow the One who has given me those words?

I find myself in a situation this week where I am challenged by these questions.

Theory and reality are often worlds apart.

Who will die because I chicken out?

I think of Martin Luther King, jr… how many more people would still be suffering if he chose not to speak out against injustice. Marian Wright Edelman… how many children would be stuck in the throes of poverty and ignorance had she not fought so hard for children’s education and children’s rights? Martin Luther… how many of us would be bound by the chains of legalism if he had not confronted the Catholic church?

I am reading through Jeremiah right now and have been taken aback at how serious God is about His Truth being spoken…

…”let him who has My word speak My word in truth… is not My word like fire?” declares the Lord “and like a hammer which shatters a rock?” (Jer 23.28, 29)

And how devastating it can be to an entire nation if a false prophet is believed:

“Listen now, Hananiah, the Lord has not sent you, and you have made this people trust in a lie… Behold I am about to remove you from the face of the earth . This year you are going to die because you have counseled rebellion against the Lord… (Jer 28.15, 17)”

(As a result of Hananiah’s words, God placed a “yoke of iron” around the necks of the Israelites and caused them to go into captivity for decades by the hand of Nebudchadnezzer. (Jer 28-29) )

Lots of questions… not so many answers…

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

