Posted by: JennyRain | February 20, 2010

Journey to the Center of the Kingdom

So Lord willing and all the logistics line up, I am going to Africa again in May.

My first thought after committing to the team leader yesterday was

I can’t believe I’m doing this again!

But the truth is, yes I can. I’m thrilled to be going back to Africa…excitement mixed with a little scaredy-cat-ness of course… but I am looking forward to seeing what God has planned for this trip.

I should have known I didn’t stand a chance at staying “mission free” working with Kailea and AnnieLaurie – both whose hearts beat for God expressing Himself through the nations of the world.

When there is a missions-passion at your church, it is quite contagious!

Not like the mumps-contagious, but sometimes very similar ūüôā

You know what I’m talking about?

Just kind of hooks-you-in contagious.

John is still praying about going…

Lots of things would have to happen to open up this trip for him too…though I am very excited at the prospect of being able to go on an international mission trip with my husband. Even if this trip does not work out for the two of us to go, I hope that we have an opportunity to go together sometime in the future.

John has that automatic-missions-DNA.

You know what I’m talking about?

The minute someone says, “let’s go on mission somewhere,” he’s in. No questions about where he would be staying, no twenty-five cases of luggage, no concerns about if he would get a shower, or have somewhere to brush his teeth, he is just ready to go. Lions in the camp you happen to be staying at? No problem with John, he just counts it as an exciting part of the experience.

Oh to have the same adventurous DNA helix floating around my body!

This trip to Africa is a bit different than my last two.

The team is going to Burundi, Africa. Bujumbura to be exact.

McLean Bible has partnered with World Relief (WRB) and has sent several teams to both Burundi and Rwanda to do humanitarian work, education, and equipping of local leaders. An excerpt from the Global Impact director’s letter to our staff shares more about the upcoming trip and our partnership with WR:

We are now focusing our purpose during these final 2 years of this partnership to assist WRB to equip 350 church leaders and 2500 community-based volunteers to save the lives of 517 children in the poorest economy in the world. This will primarily be done through teaching, equipping and pouring into staff and volunteer leaders.

The trip is still being fleshed out, but it is exciting to see God combine my 16 years in training and last few years in vocational ministry in a practical way to serve others.

So lest I get ahead of myself there are still some things that need to occur to finalize me actually going…like meeting and being approved by the other two leaders… but I am honored to be considered for this team and this trip and I am looking forward to how God will work through this team.

And here is the kicker… guess what city we just “happen” to be flying through? Nairobi, Kenya.

What are the chances of that!

So four long years later, will I actually get to step onto Kenyan soil as a part of this trip to Burundi?

So interesting how God works…

He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. (Mic 6:8)

For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God (2 Cor 1:20)

For this is the will of God, your sanctification… (1 Thess 4.3)

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

