Posted by: JennyRain | February 5, 2010

Blogging for Heaven: Cheesy Title but Valid Dilemma

So I read this post last week that has me thinking.

Now of course that I want to share it with you, I can’t find it but it’s probably on @kylelreed or @human3rror .

Anyway, this post was all about what makes someone a “real blogger.” It asked the questions like…

Am I a real blogger if I blog every day?

Am I a real blogger if I have a good daily readership of 1000+?

How do I know if I am a real blogger?

What is the tipping point that makes you an “official blogger?”

Every ministry blogger will at some point ask the question “is blogging a good use of my time, talent, and treasure?”

I am at that point.

I know this… I know that I can’t not blog. Writing is like breathing to me. Everything in my day is a potential blog-about topic. Preachers can turn anything into a sermon, I can turn anything into a blog.

So whether or not I’m considered a “real blogger” in the blogging world doesn’t really matter.

Who am I kidding – of course it matters!

It matters to me anyway.

See, I know there are a lot of amazing bloggers out there… I just want to be one of them.

Now please people – don’t send compliments my way because of that last statement, that is not what this is about.

There is an actual purpose behind my conundrum.

I want to inspire people to dig deeper and hopefully in the search, find God. I want to be a blogger who meets people where they are, just when they need to hear a word of encouragement or challenge. I want my writing to be so tuned into the heartbeat of God that the product is something that is useful to people in need. I want to be the kind of blogger that reaches a lot of people with my writing.

In short want to know that my blog is making a difference in people’s lives.

How do you measure if your blog is impacting people?

Last week I almost choked on the blog’s statement that 1000+ subscribers is considered “normal” for a power-blogger.

What?!? Who has 1000+ daily readers? That is insane! I mean, on a good day – I get 50 hits and about 1/5th of those are from searches for “crossword puzzles” because of this post.

Well, and except the week that @fosterkid decided to pray for me and over a two-day period racked up over 500 hits.

But other than those two outliers, I can’t imagine having 1000 daily readers! That would mean, when I shared my faith journey, 1000 people would be impacted. When I shared my struggles, 1000 people could be comforted, encouraged, or challenged to take a step of faith.

So that is was my befuddled-blogging-beliefs this morning.

It was really bugging me. I think it had been bothering me for awhile, but for some reason, this morning when I was getting ready, it came into my conscious awareness full-force.

Am I blogging in oblivion? Does it really matter? Am I helping others with the daily messages? Is this where I should be spending my time? How come I don’t have more subscribers?

Almost as quickly as that barrage of thoughts began I heard this…

<<Heaven is subscribed to your blog>>

It stopped my brain-noise cold.

Heaven is subscribed. God is reading every single blog I write.

God is a subscriber to my teeny little blog. Even if no one else reads it, God does. God has invested in my writing, my feelings, my online struggles.

Awwww…Wow. 

For me, that settled everything.

Record the vision and inscribe it on tablets, that the one who reads it may run. (Hab 2.2)

This is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: “Write in a book all the words I have spoken to you…” (Jer 30:2)

Share

Responses

  1. I contemplated something similar in a post called “An Audience of One.” If God alone is not a big enough audience for our writing, then even if we get 2,000 hits a day our writing will be for nothing. Thanks for the reminder. And yes, I would cherish even 1,000 hits a day. but more than that, I want to know my writing pleases the Word more than men.

    Blessings,

    Jim


Leave a Reply

Categories

