Posted by: JennyRain | February 4, 2010

What’s YOUR addiction?

Abby Grace is addicted to little yellow tennis balls.

I say “addiction” because little yellow tennis balls are like doggie-crack to Abby Grace.

She will do anything for a little yellow tennis ball.

To get AG to behave, all it takes is John or I holding up a tennis ball and she will stop dead in her tracks. To get her to come to us, take the little yellow tennis ball and make it squeak. No matter where she is in the house, her clickedy-clackedy paws can be heard ripping to find us. To get her to to perform almost any pug-tastic puglet trick, just pick up the little yellow tennis ball in front of her and she becomes the trickster immediately. Little yellow tennis balls can even pull her away from her pug-favorite carrott treats!

Like I said “addicted.”

She has recently mastered the art of the two-tennis-ball carry (seen below).

This munch-tastic miracle occurs when AG is moving from location to location and does not want to leave said tennis-balls behind. She has even been known to shove half of a third little yellow tennis ball into her mouth in order to increase travel efficiency even more!

Abby Grace likes her tennis balls.

Our mornings typically start out with a snort-snort-grunt-grunt. stop. grunt-grunt-click-click-snort. stop.

That is AG traveling room to room with the tennis balls in her mouth attempting to find her people to throw them for her so she can begin little-yellow-tennis-ball-track-and-find, a game that can keep her occupied for hours.

Keep away is another favorite, although if your finger finds its way too close to a little yellow-tennis ball while in AG’s possession, expect to lose that finger. She guards these bouncey-brights with her life.

At times, AG has been known to “prance” with her little yellow tennis balls, just to let everyone around her know that they are hers, she is proud of them, and should anyone want to join in the fun, she is in charge and you are simply entertainment for the afternoon.

When Abby Grace is in little-yellow-tennis-ball-land, the world beyond the yellow-flyers ceases to exist.

I think I had been in denial about exactly how addicted AG was to her tennis balls.

The other day, however, I could not deny it any longer. AG had woken us up promptly at 6 am, little-yellow-tennis-balls in tow. She proceeded to carry them around all morning.

I thought she had kicked the habit, but then I got out of the shower only to realize she had been staring at the door of the shower – tennis-balls-in-mouth – waiting for me to get out so play could re-commence.

It was that moment that revealed to me AG has a problem with little-yellow-tennis-balls and I had enabled it.

<sigh>

I have a lot of little yellow tennis balls in my life, do you?

These little yellow tennis balls are things that consume my time and attention. They are things that I obsess over, worry about, dedicate a great deal of my efforts to maintaining. Things that if anyone comes too close and attempts to grab them away, I’ll snap and may even bite.

Though I have become more intentional and persistent with establishing and maintaining balance in my life, I have learned how easy it is to place things in front of God. Things that have neither the worth or the value to be in that spot reserved for God alone.

These things act like little yellow tennis balls, pulling all of my focus and energy towards them – instead of God.

Some of Abby Grace’s little yellow tennis balls are so worn it’s time to chuck them in the garbage.

She has sucked the life out of them (literally) and now its time to retire them to the wasteland. The problem is, if she sees me throwing any of these little yellow tennis balls away, I’m concerned that she may follow them into the garbage too.

I wonder if I have ever followed a little yellow tennis ball into the garbage too…looking to eek that one last breath of life out of something that has always been – and will forever be – lifeless…

What are the little yellow tennis balls in your life?

I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your lifeDeuteronomy 30:19-20 (NIV)

the one who sows to his flesh will reap corruption, but the one who one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life… Galatians 6:8 (NASB)

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

