Posted by: JennyRain | January 14, 2010

The Equation of Time Plus Energy

“I just need another two hours in my day to get everything done!”

How often have we heard this comment?

How often do I find myself running around like a crazy woman trying to get everything done that I need to in a day… oh wait, that was just me this morning. How many times do we have that perpetual check-list that there does not seem to be enough hours in the day to get through?

Am I the only one who struggles with this thing called time and my relationship with it?

What if I said that it is not time that we all need more of in our days.

 

Are you kidding me Jenny? Of course it is time we need more of!

Time is what makes the world go round. Time is what allows me to get my stuff done. Time is what I have to schedule as soon as I get up.

Time is what I lose on the blasted freeway when people decide to drive like morons and get into accidents that result in me being late to work thus causing me to lose an entire hour from the beginning of my day during which time I was planning to do a whole slew of things that I can now not get finished because of the idiot on the freeway who caused the accident in the first place that made me late which is why I am complaining about time in this blog…

You get the picture.

Time is not the issue.

We all have the same amount of time.

Time is a fixed commodity, it does not change from day to day.

One hour today is the same as one hour yesterday and that will be the same as one hour tomorrow.

Time does not change.

Time is not the problem, it is what we do with our time that typically kicks us in the rear.

At the beginning of each day I have to examine my to-do list and the paper piles on my desk and begin prioritizing. How will I organize my day? What is the most important thing I can focus on?

Then I assess my energy levels. If I have a tremendous amount of energy, I know that I will accomplish more in any given bracket of time. If I am lethargic, chances are, I will not be very productive.

 

More energy = more productivity in a given slice of time. Less energy = decreased productivity in a given hour.

I am learning that it is the equation of time + energy (sprinkled with a little organization) that = true productivity.

I think it is not more time that we need, but more energy to use the time we have.

Perhaps we need to examine our relationship with time and realize that time is not our enemy. I love what one blogger writes about time…

It is the result of an obsession with understanding time as a concept and our relationship with it. We are in the middle of a transition in a world of new technology, where memory is captured differently (e.g. writing an email becomes stored in other ways within our memories than writing by hand, I would believe.) As a result the form of our traces are changing, as well as the archives of ourselves. 

 What is your relationship with time?

There is an appointed time for everything, and a time for every affair under the heavens. A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to uproot the plant. A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to tear down, and a time to build. A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance. A time to scatter stones, and a time to gather them; a time to embrace, and a time to be far from embraces. A time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away. A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to be silent, and a time to speak. A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.What advantage has the worker from his toil? I have considered the task which God has appointed for men to be busied about. He has made everything appropriate to its time, and has put the timeless into their hearts, without men’s ever discovering, from beginning to end, the work which God has done. I recognized that there is nothing better than to be glad and to do well during life.For every man, moreover, to eat and drink and enjoy the fruit of all his labor is a gift of God. (Ecc 3)
 
Share
Responses

  1. Amen! I just prayed this morning – Lord, show me Your agenda for this day because I have a “to do” list a mile long. And then I read Psalm 57:2, “I will cry to God Most High, to God who accomplishes all things for me.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

