Posted by: JennyRain | January 12, 2010

Right and Wrong do not Live Here Anymore

I just had to do something really difficult.

Not difficult from a task perspective. Difficult from an emotional and spiritual perspective.

I had to get myself out of the equation in order to complete the task in a manner that would be more representative of Christ.

Among those who belong to Christ, everything connected with getting our own way and mindlessly responding to what everyone else calls necessities is killed off for good—crucified (Gal 5.24 MSG)

Who am I kidding, though… I mean, isn’t this what I am supposed to be doing on a regular basis? Letting Christ shine through my actions and words?

I am fooling myself to believe I can even make a spark on my own, let alone shine, so perhaps today’s event just brought into focus what I should have been doing all along.

This event allowed me the power of choice – which made it even more difficult.

Life would be much easier if we always had the choice between right and wrong, but this event was not as simple. I knew that God was not going to swoop down from His heavenly abode to perform the task for me. I had to rely on what I knew of His teachings and then represent Him well in the job I have been asked to do. That means, I had to trust my own ability to make good decisions, and have faith in my ability to carry those decisions out.

It was the exact opposite of what I wrote about yesterday!

Then I had to let go and leave the results up to God.

I had to trust.

Trust myself that I made a decision that will honor God. Trust God that He sees the entire picture, so His results will be perfect every time (Psalm 18:30).

Loving God and loving others. This is so much easier when there are not difficult decisions to be made.

In this case, I am not worried about “did I do the right or wrong thing,” because life is usually not that black and white.

What I am hopeful of is that I represented Christ well, that I was faithful to what I have been called to do, and that I was faithful to the command God has given us to love God and love others.

…Indeed, I have been crucified with Christ. My ego is no longer central. It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion, and I am no longer driven to impress God. Christ lives in me. The life you see me living is not “mine,” but it is lived by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I am not going to go back on that. (Gal 2.20 MSG)

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

