Posted by: JennyRain | January 5, 2010

So that you may become…a humble noticer

Humility is an aquired taste.

Rather like praying for patience, asking God for more humility produces interesting results.

Paul teaches us in Philippians to

Do everything without complaining or arguing, (grumbling) so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life—in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing. 

Without grumbling.

When my husband asks me if I would take over pug-duty in the evening for him, I can demonstrate humility by not grumbling. If a co-worker asks me to help them finish a task, humility means lending a hand and not complaining about the extra time it may add to my day.

When the lady at Macy’s reaches around me to grab the last pair of blue summer heels in size eight, humility expresses itself by choosing to embrace generosity instead of an argumentative spirit.

“So that you may become…”

The NASB says “so that you may prove…” This greek word is ..γίνομαι = ghin’ – om – ahee, and it means “to become, i.e. to come into existence, begin to be, receive being.”

It is used 636 times in the New Testament and indicates that these actions are a process, not an event.

Humility does not just happen, it is a process of becoming.

The results of demonstrating humility are clear:

1 – You “become” blameless and pure (children of God without fault)

2 – We shine like stars as we hold out the word of Life

So, our humble actions and attitude become to others a “living word” to others. The Message says it like this:

Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God. Carry the light-giving Message into the night

This is the verse I was pondering as I walked in to work this morning.

First-class Noticers

This is the other concept I have been batting around this morning. I spoke a little about FCN’s in my review of Primal a couple of weeks ago.

In Geeks and Geezers, Warren Bennis and Robert Thomas note that successful business leaders all have a common personal character trait…they are FCN’s. An FCN is someone who “recognizes talent, identifies opportunities and avoids pitfalls.”

Leadership Now shares Bennis’ wisdom on becoming an FCN: 

[We must] learn to observe closely and accurately. This part of what [he] considers to be the single most important attribute of successful leaders.

Essentially being a “first-class noticer” means to get out and learn as much as you can.

Bennis states that “when those who lack adaptive capacity hit a rough patch, they tend to shut down and scar over. The fortunate remain hungry for experience no matter how severely they are tested.” [He] reminds us to stay comfortable with “not knowing … but finding out.”

So what is the connection between Humility and First-Class Noticers?

When I was young, I knew everything. The more I age, the more I am learning how much I do not know. I am finally able to admit that I have a lot to learn from others.

Humility knows its own limits. Limits of knowledge. Limits of experience. Limits of ability.

First-class noticers are people who, because they are aware of their own limited capacity to “know,” “be,” and “do,” have keenly developed their senses to those things and people around them who they can learn from.

FCNs are humble enough to know and admit what they don’t know.

Humility opens my eyes to what I do not know and – I believe – produces in me a willingness to receive learning – through every opportunity.

Humility helps me stop grumbling and start taking actions that help me to learn. This open-minded attitude turns every opportunity into a learning opportunity and I begin developing my capacity to become a FCN in my world.

When I do not expend my energy on grumbling, I have more energy to ask questions.
When I do not complain, I hear the optimism and see the innovations of those around me.
When I do not argue, I see how to build a bridge between two worlds where solutions can be shared and organizations can partner.

Today Lord… help me to be humble as humility will help me be a first-class noticer in the world around me. Then help me to be an FCN so that I can see where you are working, see what I need to learn, and see how every opportunity I engage in to serve others may better help me develop further humility and advance my ability to become even more of an FCN in your world.

 

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

