Posted by: JennyRain | December 10, 2009

Hosea Speaks

My devotional journey this morning led me through the book of Hosea.

I have had a love/hate relationship with this book for the last decade. When I read the heroic long-suffering Hosea endured for his bride Gomer, I want to think “I’m like Hosea. Definitely. Yup. I’m him.”

After deciding that I am Hosea, I pat myself on the back, close my bible, and walk away proudly feeling like I am a spiritual giant.

But God…

…gently drags me back into the text and encourages the words to read me, instead of me reading it.

When I let the words of Hosea settle upon my soul and my conscience, my heart begins to hear this faint echo, a choral refrain that runs throughout the book that “somehow” I have overlooked…

Repent…Return

“Repent from what Lord?” I think, “Return from where? I’m right here… see… lookee me… listen God I’m talking to you…see… I’m here…”

Repent… Return

This is the part of God’s instruction to me from Hosea that I dislike.

It is so personal. Turn away from that which separates you from Me.

It is so intimate. Return to Me. Come closer. I want to look in your eyes and I want you to look into Mine.

“After I have chosen to separate myself from you Lord? Through my own short-comings?”

This act is terrifying to me.

God is inviting me to step into the Throne room – caked in mud and fully cognizant of the fact that I am mud-covered.

He does not appear to be frightened of this covering of mud. He is able to see me, even through the layer of grime.

God does not seem to be asking me to deny my mud-coveredness, or to flaunt it…He asks me simply to acknowledge that it is there and is a part of me in that moment without Him.

Then – as I am about ready to dig a hole – God wants me in all of my filth, my hand dripping with slime and dirt-caked fingernails… to reach out and grasp his already-extended hand.

My filth touching His glory…. 

Yeah. Um, see – I don’t do up close and personal well.

I like my happy bubble! I can keep all my junk in the trunk in my happy bubble!

Yet God, in God’s infinite love and care has a better way… That is what Hosea reminds me of…this is the part of Hosea I love…

Return to the Lord your God… for you have stumbled… Take words with you and return to the Lord…Say to Him, “Take away all ininquity and receive us graciously, that we may present the fruit of our lips.”

For in You, the fatherless finds mercy. (Hosea 14:1-2, 3b)

And the Lord says to you,

I will heal their apostasy, I will love them FREELY, For my anger has turned away from them. I will be like the dew to Israel; He will blossom like the lily, and he will take root like the cedars of Lebanon. His shoots will sprout and his beauty will be like the olive tree and his fragrance like the cedars of Lebabnon…His renown will be like the wine of Lebanon. (Hosea 14.4-7)

He will revive us after two days; He will raise us up on the third day, that we may LIVE before Him. So let us KNOW, let us PRESS ON to know the Lord…He will come to us like the rain, like the spring rain watering the earth.

O Judah, there is a harvest appointed for you when I restore the fortunes of my people! (Hosea 6.2-3, 11)

 

Share

Responses

  1. Beautiful,thought provoking,and real. Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed it!

  2. shooooo…

    months ago God drew me into the story of Hosea once again. and in light of my current life situation, it affected me deeper than it ever had before. but while there were so many parallels to my physical life, there were also parallels to my spiritual life. unmistakable similarities.

    and i had to repent for my adulterous heart.


Leave a Reply

Categories

