Posted by: JennyRain | December 9, 2009

What’s your Theology?

We all have a guiding theology and whether or not you believe in God has very little to do with it.

Theology is defined as:  

    1. The study of the nature of God and religious truth; rational inquiry into religious questions.
    2. A system or school of opinions concerning God and religious questions: Protestant theology; Jewish theology.
    3. A course of specialized religious study usually at a college or seminary.  

    [Middle English theologie, from Old French, from Latin theologia, from Greek theologiā : theo-, theo- + -logiā, -logy.]

“Theology” as a term was “first used in the works of Plato and other Greek philosophers to refer to the teaching of myth, but the discipline expanded within Christianity and has found application in all theistic religions.” (1)

  • Theology for an athiest sounds something like this “I do not believe in the existence of God or any higher being/creator.”
  • Theology for an agnostic reads simlilar to this “I do not think about God at all. I have no belief or disbelief as it pertains to God, I just do not care one way or the other.”
  • Theology for a New Ager can be like this “God is in all things – in nature – in self – in others – in goodness – in truth. God simply is.”
  • Theology for a universalist is similar to this, “All things lead to God eventually.”
  • Theology for a follower of Christ is this, “God can be found through faith in the Incarnate Christ Jesus.”

For every theology – God is either center, or opposite of center – so God “is” in every theology – whether God is rejected or accepted.

 

So, what is your theology?

My theology found its center of gravity a few years back when it was simplified into the following three sentences:

God loves me (I know this because Christ sacrificed Himself for humanity out of love)

God is Good (I know this because God sent His Son to humanity)

I know these things because the Bible, the Living Word of God, tells me.

I have talked about this before, but these three beliefs that undergird my theology are the “sifter” for any circumstance that I encounter. Knowing that God is good enables me to see His faithfulness and goodness despite very difficult and trying events in my life. Understanding that He loves me gives me patience and confidence that I would probably not have if I did not know this.

Perhaps you do not believe in God, or do not care.

That is – as I had said earlier – also a guiding “theology.” When you encounter a difficult or joyful experience, what lens defines how you perceive it? If you are having trouble ascertaining meaning of something in your life, how do you eventually find that meaning?

What defines you?

Is it something beyond you – like fate, or the universe?

Please know I am asking out of curiosity – most definitely not judgment.

I  love learning about people – what motivates them, what inspires them. I love sharing my story and hearing the stories of others. Whether or not you ascribe to my belief system, I know that you can teach me something, so that is partly what drives my curiosity – I love to learn about people.

Is having a “Theology” important?

In my life, I have found that it is. Even when I did not believe in the existence of God, when I had questions, when I could not see any personal nature of God (through Christ) – but rather, only this universal “vapor” type Old Guy in the sky – for me, it was still important to me.

Even Snoopy has a theology…

Is having a Theology, a guiding belief system, something that undergirds your existence important to you?

Have you ever thought about it before?

 

Share

Responses

  1. Love this! Thanks for stopping by my blog, Jenny. I love taking the word of God and going deeper. Very cool to find a blog that does that. I’ll be back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

