Posted by: JennyRain | November 30, 2009

Unanswered Prayers and Near-miss Relationships

One year ago, I did not know my husband.

John and I had both been in relationships throughout 2008 – with other people. We like to call these our “near-miss” relationships.

John and I both spent time praying that God would bless these relationships we were in. However, the more I prayed, the less peace I had, the more strife that erupted in my current relationship.

The more I tried to make the relationship conform to what I thought it should be, the less I liked myself, and the more I resented this person who was supposed to be “the one.”

You see, I had a carefully crafted plan. Engaged by late fall (Christmas at the latest), married by Spring (summer at the latest), and happily starting life together shortly thereafter. I just knew in my heart, this was the season of marriage for me!

Of course, I also let God know my plan. Daily.

But God had another plan in mind for John and me.

What I did not know is that John was four states away experiencing much of the same thing in his relationship…strife, discord, and lack of peace until ithe early fall of 2008 both relationships fell apart.

After my own breakup, I remember tearfully crying out to God about my latest failure in the dating world. My thoughts bumped between “I’ll never get married” to “all men suck” to “how could this have happened again?” Perhaps I had misinterpreted this “season of marriage” I thought I was in?

God interrupted my mumbling with the following, “Continue to pray for your marriage.”

I answered, “Uh, are you kidding me? You obviously did not see the latest relationship trainwreck. Obviously I do not have this ‘marriage gene’ that other friends have.”

I heard nothing.

So obediently, I prayed. 

Less than one month later, John and I began to talk (we connected on Christian Mingle). Within three phone conversations, before even meeting, we had decided we wanted to date exclusively. When we met on December 22nd for the first time, it only took a week for us to know that we were staring at our future spouse.

A week after meeting me, John asked my father for my hand in marriage. He called both sets of his parents to ask for their blessing. Then in January of this year, John drove down to GA to ask my mom and step-dad for my hand. Of course, he formally asked me shortly thereafter.  

The wedding fell together in a way that could only be explained as God’s hand in the details.

We set a May 30th date. People from my church in GA came out to help so that we could keep the costs way down. We received deep discounts on things, or things were just given to us because people wanted to help.

The day of the wedding the entire praise team came out to sing for us. People flew in from all over the country to share this special time with us.

The twenty-one days before our wedding, it had rained in Georgia, but we arose to sunny skies and a refreshing breeze.

Things like that happened all throughout the process.

Charles Stanley once said, “There is a spiritual principle that I have seen operate consistently throughout my thirty-plus years in ministry. The principle is that God will always bring the GREAT before He brings the BEST.”

Never has a statement so perfectly described the last two years of my life.

Though my near-miss relationship was relatively healthy and might have been ‘great’ – it most definitely was not God’s best for me. God knew to create in John a person who could provide for needs that I did not even know I would have.

Eph 3.20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

John is nothing like what I expected I would marry and he is God’s perfect partner for me. Even when he is getting on my last nerve, my Spirit remains in a peaceful knowing that John and I are together for a reason that is far bigger than either of us could have planned.

Bryan Redding Photography

I am so grateful for unanswered prayers.

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs
That just because he doesn’t answer doesn’t mean he don’t care
Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

Garth Brooks: Unanswered Prayers

Responses

  1. wow.

    WOW.

    i loved hearing this story. gives me hope.

  2. […] near-miss relationship that I was in prior to meeting John had an effect on my life that was not healthy – it pulled […]

  3. […] It consistently astonishes me how our lives can change in an instant. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

