Posted by: JennyRain | November 26, 2009

What do Star Trek and Thanksgiving have in common?

Probably about as much as Snoopy and Thanksgiving.

I must say though, I am thoroughly enjoying this new tradition of Star Trek and pumpkin pie on Turkey Day.

When I was a kid, I used to love for Thanksgiving and Christmas to come around so I could sit in front of my 16″ black and white TV (without cable) and watch A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving. I loved the airing of this program because I knew after that it was a short countdown to Christmas, which meant Christmas trees, candy canes, sugar cookies, and PRESENTS!

I used to keep time around Christmas using the network television shows. Charlie Brown was the first to arrive at Thanksgiving, after that came  Frosty, Rudolph, and the Grinch. I spent many an hour in front of the television wrapped in my snuggie drinking hot chocolate watching my shows.

(For the overseas folks who may not have access to the yearly programs, here are some links where you can see them online!)

1. It’s a Wonderful Life (click to watch)

2. A Charlie Brown Christmas (click to watch)

3. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer (click to watch)

4. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (click to watch)

5. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (click to watch)

6. Frosty the Snowman (click to watch)

Typically Frosty or Rudolph were the last to air, and once they showed then I knew Christmas was within days! 

To this day, all of those shows remind me of my childhood in front of that wee-tv and I find myself smiling.

Two years ago my family began a new tradition. On Christmas night, after all of the presents have been opened, the dogs put to bed, and the food resting-not-so-comfortably in our stuffed tummies, we watch A Christmas Story.

Typically we will sit giggling raucously to quotes such as:

“I double-dog dare you!”

“You’ll shoot your eye out!”

“Fra-gee-lay”

“I want an Official Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred-Shot Range Model Air Rifle!”

Last year John drove over five-and-a-half hours to join us for the movie. He laughed as hard as we did so I knew he’d fit in great with the family.

And this year, John has brought us Star Trek.

Last Thanksgiving, I did not even know John yet. This Thanksgiving, he has become a part of setting new traditions in the family…well, maybe. 

So what do Star Trek (2009 of course) and Thanksgiving have in common?

Nothing really, other than the potential of a new family tradition – thanks to my Gumpee.

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!


Leave a Reply

Categories

