Posted by: JennyRain | November 24, 2009

Moments that take our breath away

I interrupt my regularly-scheduled broadcast……to bring you this very important breaking news update.

Today I found out my uncle is sick and in the hospital.

Our entire family is praying for him – that he will recover – and have many more years to celebrate life. Hearing this news from my mom this morning started me thinking about a “moment” that my Uncle Wes and I had together during my wedding in may.

I was showing him the video I had made for John and my Uncle became visibly touched. Now, you have to know my Uncle Wes to know, this just does not happen!

Uncle Wes is my favorite “tough-guy” uncle, replete with tats and would probably have a Harley if my Auntie would let him. He has this gruff voice that lumbers in the air far after he leaves the room. When I was a kid, if Uncle Wes got mad, you had better leave the country because you were about to get a lickin that would keep on stingin for months!

After watching the video, my Uncle Wes shared some wisdom and encouragement with me about marriage that I bring to remembrance daily as I navigate these new waters of “one-fleshness” with John. My whole world stopped as I stepped into that “moment” with my Uncle Wes and just soaked in it. Of all of the “moments” during my wedding day, it is that one that I will cherish in my heart forever.

This is my Uncle Wes at the wedding…

And this is my Uncle Wes, my mom & step dad, and my Auntie MaryKay… ain’t they cute!

So before we move on, could you lift my Uncle Wes and Auntie Mary Kay up in prayer today for God’s healing touch?

It has been said that…Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

The older I become, the more I realize this to be true. It is those captivating moments that I look back on that I can point to and say “in that moment I learned something… became something… gained something… in that moment I was defined…or in that moment life took on a whole new meaning for me…”

Those moments have no monetary value but yet they are a treasure no amount of money can buy.

Share

Responses

  1. Jenny–Praying your Uncle Wes recovers quickly and fully. God Bless, Kristie

  2. just said a prayer for your uncle. standing with you for his healing.

  3. Thank you so much Alece and Kristie! It is times like this when I am so very grateful for the arms of the body of Christ reaching out to embrace my family in prayer 🙂

    y’all are a blessing!
    J


Leave a Reply

Categories

