Posted by: JennyRain | November 23, 2009

Bumping into a friend along the path

I love it when things come together as planned!

This week has been one of those weeks for me. I am so delighted with how the Women in Ministry series on my blog has turned out. Many of you have commented on how it has ministered to you, encouraged you, and challenged you.

The divine inspiration for this blog series occured several weeks ago and as I prayed through it, God reminded me of each of the women who wrote last week and how much they have ministered to me throughout the years. It brought a smile to my face and I knew that I had to share their wisdom and encouragement with each of you!

It has been a consistent blessing for me that my path has crossed with each of these lovely ladies.

In many cases, it is quite a miracle that our paths crossed at all!

For instance, I met Melanie at a She Speaks conference several years ago. I learned about Mel during a session given by Lysa TerKeurst, Director of Proverbs 31 ministries. Lysa was encouraging each of us ladies with the following story:

“Many of you may be scratching your head wondering why you are here. You are not a writer or a speaker but you know God has called you to be here at this conference this weekend. I promise you, God has a plan for your attendance. One of our attendees last year was baffled as to why she was here, she just knew God wanted her to be here. She came with questions, she left with a book contract!”

 

I remember hearing that story the first  year I attended She Speaks thinking, “Gosh I would love to meet that woman!” My agenda for attending was – obviously – a book contract. But after the first day of meeting with publishers I was so deflated that I left Saturday night.

The next year I decided to try the conference again. Again, I heard Lysa share the same story. Again, after the first day I was discouraged and ready to leave. Would I ever get the stinkin book contract?!? Psheesh!

But something inside me was nagging at me to stay, so I did.

Sunday morning I sat down at breakfast next to this amazing woman who was talking about marriage. Instantly I was drawn to her wisdom. I felt like I was being mentored on relationships, just sitting next to her. She answered all of my questions with such poise and humility – and I will never forget the authenticity with which she was willing to share her own experiences.

That woman, was of course Melanie and I made the connection toward the end of the discussion – but by that time we had already exchanged emails and promised to pray for each other.

Three years later, I have watched God move in Mel and her family’s life in amazing ways and I am so blessed to be a part of her journey.

I thought I was going for a book contract but the blessing I have received from my friendship and partnership with Melanie is so much greater.  To see God work in the burgeoning of Mel’s ministry (and now her hubby Scott’s new venture Carolina Courts) has shown me how mighty the hand of God is in a woman’s life and I am so grateful for my divine intersection with Mel!

My intersection with Leaha is quite similar.

Leaha’s husband and Asif and I worked together for only seven weeks in 2001. One day at lunch Asif and I were gabbing and realized that we were both Christian. I was going through a particularly difficult time in my life and Asif and Leaha committed to praying for me, though they barely knew me.

During the two months that Asif and I worked together, God used him to speak into my life in very transforming ways. Throughout the next few years, God used Leaha in the same way. One of them would challenge me and then the other one would encourage me – it was a perfect partnership!

When Asif and Leaha launched into full-time ministry with Campus Crusade, it was a no-brainer for me to become one of their ministry partners. Throughout the last decade we have shared joy and tears, trails and victories. God has knit our lives together in a wonderful friendship.

I cannot imagine my life without Asif and Leaha!

So why am I telling you all this?

You never know who is sitting next to you at work, they might become one of your strongest advocates in ministry. You never know why you are attending a meeting, a conference, or an event. It could be that your agenda is just the vehicle to get you there. Once you arrive however, if you are open to God’s leading, there may be a completely different God-ordained-agenda awaiting you.

Be flexible. Stay open to the people who cross your path today. Remain attuned to God working around you.

I promise that if you do, you will be blessed by God in ways that you could never imagine.

Responses

  1. I am so enjoying reading your posting. They make me smile often. Just when I think I should pause, you make me rethink it and say if God is not pausing me why should I.

  2. Thank you so much for reading and I am so glad that God is encouraging you through the posts. It is such a blessing to me to hear how God works through these posts 🙂 God bless you!
    Jenny


Leave a Reply

Categories

