Posted by: JennyRain | November 18, 2009

The Good Samaritan: Leaha Shaikh

Guest Blogger, Leaha Shaikh

On staff with Athletes In Action, a ministry of Campus Crusade and an avid blogger and writer too!

Leaha’s heart is to meet young women where they are and share the transforming love of Jesus Christ. She and her husband Asif work together with college students to “turn lost students into Christ centered laborers.”

I stopped at depression’s door. It appeared unfamiliar and dark. It was a place I had heard others mention, but a place I had never been. It felt cold and eerie. Loneliness echoed through the air, whispering that one should never sit down in the event he or she might stay too long.

But I felt weak, so I crumbled to the ground.

And when I did, the door slowly opened, with its hinges nearly buckling under its weight. “Clack, Clack, Clack,” they groaned. I felt their misery as I too sat like a rusted hinge bearing the weight of that swinging door.

It swung open and the lights turned off.

I felt thin and cold on the inside-almost like I was losing weight, but I wasn’t. I was losing myself. I felt so tired, like I could not sit any longer. I just wanted to lie down in the darkness and go to sleep.

Then suddenly I felt a tug on my shirt. And then a yank until your hand grabbed a hold of my shoulder. I did not feel quite as sleepy anymore. Then you reached your arm and linked it underneath mine and you pulled and you yanked and you tugged until I no longer darkened depression’s doorstep. You turned on the lights and you washed my face and brushed my hair. You told me it was safe to open my eyes.

I felt rescued. I felt relieved. And when I saw that it was you, I felt surprised. You were a person who I would practically call a stranger before I would call you a friend. I hardly knew you beyond the domains of a Facebook connection.

But still you took a risk, you reached our your hand, and you rescued me from falling head first into a pit of despair.

“But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him. He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, took him to an inn and took care of him. The next day he took out two silver coins and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’” -Jesus, telling The Parable of the Good Samaritan in Matthew 10:33-35

 

**************************************************************************************

For more information or to partner with Asif and Leaha: CAMPUS CRUSADE FOR CHRIST INTERNATIONAL

CCCI is helping to build spiritual movements everywhere so everyone knows someone who truly follows Jesus Christ. CCCI helps to fulfill the Great Commission in the power of the Holy Spirit by winning people to faith in Jesus Christ, building them in their faith and sending them to win and build others; and helping the Body of Christ do evangelism and discipleship.

We (John and I) currently partner with Asif and Leaha Shaikh and are SO excited about the fruit we have seen from their ministry to young college students. Asif and Leaha are currently with the CCCI ministry Athletes In Action and are Chaplains to 500 Division I Athletes at University of South Florida…their vision “Challenging Athletes to use their platforms to glorify Christ!”

Share

Responses

  1. […] Wednesday: Leaha Shaikh: On staff with Athletes In Action, a ministry of Campus Crusade. […]

  2. This was awesome. Thanks for sharing Leaha’s insight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

