Posted by: JennyRain | November 17, 2009

An Unexpected Entry Into Ministry: Melanie Chitwood

Guest Blogger, Melanie Chitwood

Speaker and writer for Proverbs 31 Ministries


http://melaniechitwood.com

Author of What a Husband Needs from His Wife and What a Wife Needs from Her Husband (Harvest House)

An Unexpected Entry into Ministry

I started writing just because I love to write, and I think that is in and of itself a great reason to write. My writing focused on lessons God was teaching me, specifically at that time about marriage. I would get up early in the morning, sometimes at 4 or 5 a.m, because that’s my most productive time, and I began putting on paper and computer lessons God was impressing on my heart.

Gradually, I began to wonder if what I was writing could help other women, so I began to submit to some publications and had a few magazine articles published. Then an amazing thing happened. The president of Harvest House publishers read one of those articles, “Becoming Your Husband’s Helper” and CALLED ME AND ASKED ME IF I’D BE INTERESTED IN WRITING A BOOK. I put that in capital letters because even now, it’s amazing how God worked that out! I love to tell this story to encourage others who have the dream of writing.

When they called, I tried to act calm and professional, as if publishers called me every day, but then I quickly abandoned that facade to be completely honest because I was concerned about something. While Scott and I had come a long way in our marriage, we still had some major struggles. I wasn’t so sure I was the one to be writing a marriage book. Harvest House assured me that my honesty was one of the qualities that attracted them to my writing about marriage. That book proposal, What a Wife needs from Her Husband, was accepted and in 2006 I had my first book published.

I’ve learned that ministry is most effective when I am sharing with others what God is working out in my own life. For example, I write and speak about marriage because that’s a major area in my life where I’ve seen the Holy Spirit transform me. That doesn’t mean that “I’ve arrived” or become perfect in that area. Not at all. In fact being real and authentic is one of my top priorities as a communicator. I never want people to think that I have it all together – because I don’t! I do, however, want them to see that God truly does transform us when we let Him be the Lord of our lives.

Writing about Marriage

 

In my first book, What a Husband Needs from His Wife, I share many stories about my marriage and other couples’ marriages. I also provide Scripture and many practical ideas for wives to apply to their marriages.

I address a problem that was long-standing in my marriage and one I see in many other marriages. That problem was, in a word, me. More specifically, my focus was off. I spent a lot of time telling God and my husband what they could do to improve our marriage. Finally, when God got a hold of me and I began to surrender my marriage to Him, I began to ask the question every wife needs to ask: God, what kind of wife do You want me to be?

I think this first book has been successful and appealing to women because it’s real, as I’ve already said is very important to me, and it asks women to get to the heart of the matter. We can change our behavior, but if we don’t allow God to change our hearts, the changes won’t stand the test of time.

I take the same approach with men in my second book, What a Wife Needs from Her Husband, and the focus of the chapters parallel the chapters in the husband book, so by using the study guides at the end of the book, husbands and wives can easily study these books together.

Proverbs 31 Ministries

I speak and write for Proverbs 31 Ministries. Our purpose is to encourage women to grow in their everyday relationship with Jesus Christ. We provide women with tools, such as books, speakers, messages on CD or DVD, and online devotions.

The online devotions, Encouragement for Today, are free so I encourage you to sign-up today.

Prayer Requests

My second book, What a Wife Needs from Her Husband, will come out in January 2010.

Will you pray for this book to turn the hearts of men to Jesus and to their wives? Because this book is targeted for men, it will be more challenging for me to market this book, so please pray for that God to be the distributor of this book, just as He was for the first one.

Contact Information

I’d love to hear from you at http://melaniechitwood.com. Thank you, Jenny, for inviting me to be a guest today!

 

Share

Responses

  1. […] Tuesday: Melanie Chitwood: Writer and speaker (Harvest House Publishing and Proverbs 31 ministry).   […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

