Posted by: JennyRain | November 11, 2009

Salute to the Veterans

Today is Veterans Day.

Today I am reflecting on our Veterans both here and abroad.

I wonder, what would make a man or a woman be willing to lay down their life for a country? How did these men and women come to believe so strongly in freedom that they would sacrifice themselves to uphold it?

I admire these Veterans – because they have fought so I can enjoy freedom and peace.

As I think about how much many of you have sacrificed – some of you have sacrificed your life, others your health, and still others have returned after combat in some way disabled – I am thankful for all you gave.

Stepping up to fight the enemy, sometimes in hand-to-hand combat… Willing to embrace your fears and move forward anyway… Persevering through the battle, even when you have lost all of the men and women who were in the battle with you… To me, this seems frightening… overwhelming… awe-inspiring.

Perhaps that is why, when I see you in uniform standing arm in arm with your compatriots, I am so touched.

You fought for my freedom though you never knew me.

You gave to me and my family the ability to discover “Life, liberty,and the pursuit of happiness” though you will probably never meet me.

Many of you are still serving our country today to ensure that these precious liberties that you helped secure will be maintained.

This Veterans day, I salute you for all that you have done, all that you have given, and the sacrifices that you have made so that I can enjoy a better tomorrow.

My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. (Jn 15.12-13)

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers. (1 Jn 3:16)

 Thank you Veterans and your families.

By Faith

Words and Music by Keith & Kristyn Getty & Stuart Townend

By faith we see the hand of God
In the light of creation’s grand design
In the lives of those who prove His faithfulness
Who walk by faith and not by sight

By faith our fathers roamed the earth
With the power of His promise in their hearts
Of a holy city built by God’s own hand
A place where peace and justice reign

We will stand as children of the promise
We will fix our eyes on Him our soul’s reward
Till the race is finished and the work is done
We’ll walk by faith and not by sight

 

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

