Posted by: JennyRain | September 5, 2009

Crazy Love

I am humbled.

I incurred a debt – whether by wilfull intention or by design or because we were trying to hold down two mortgages – I incurred a debt and could not pay it. There was no money in savings. I had no space on my miniscule credit card to bail me out. It was not appropriate to return to mama-n-them as I have the past few years. I was broke.

And John wrote a check to cover it.

John did not incur the debt. It was not really his responsibility – yet he took the responsiblity upon himself to offer a way out. In doing so, I am humbled by this act.

This is the essence – to me – of Christ-like love. To offer one’s “life” so that others may benefit. So that others will be released from bondage and set free.

Now, we are considering this “a loan”  – not sure if that is good or bad. It just is. To me, this is actually more motivating to work to get my ducks, or my finances if you will, back in tow.

Perhaps that is what it is like in our Christian walk. God, do we have your Life “on loan”? Not that we could possibly pay back the Creator of the universe; We cannot pay back a debt that astronomical. But perhaps we embrace the Life You give as if it is “on loan” and perhaps we are to “pay it forward” to help others who cannot help themselves. To touch the broken who need ot know the light of your rescuing Grace.

I don’t know.

But what I do know is this, John’s generosity to step into my broken finances and share the redemptive love of Christ through the symbolic act of a monetary exchange has touched me deeply.

It has touched me God, because I see You in this act.

“God made Him who knew no sin to BE sin for us, so that we might become the righteousness of Godin Christ.” 2 Corinthians 5.21

John paid a debt he did not owe and in doing so has set me free from what I could not fix on my own.

So did You Jesus. So did You.

Yet, when was the last time I was humbled by Your crazy, radical love for me?

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5.8

 

4you

Responses

  1. Awesome! I am in a season where this type of “crazy love” feels like a theme right now. We’ve been blessed with things this year that belong in the category of “never in a million years”. But God…..
    “…you prepare a table for me in the presence of my enemies. You annoint my head with oil, my cup runneth over.” Psalm 23:5
    “Surely goodness and mercy shall FOLLOW me.” This is an amazing verse because it reminds me that God follows me. He knows my going and coming, my sitting down and my getting up, my waking and my sleeping. He is familiar with ALL of my ways. (good and bad. UGH) and still sends his goodness and mercy after me in my need.
    Crazy love!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

