Posted by: JennyRain | August 24, 2009

How do you do that? People who amaze me

Today my hubby John starts his new job at National Cathedral School. I am so proud of him and so excited too! I know that he will be a great asset to their team, and I know that he will also learn a lot from the teenagers and other teachers there.

The kids do not return back for another couple of weeks, so John has a while to get acclimated. I said to him the other night, “I don’t know how you do it!”

 “What?” he responded. 

“Teach a room full of teenagers! I could survive four-hundred angry executives better than a room of seven teenage girls. Phew!” I exclaimed.

 John laughed and looked at my quizzically. To him, this is just what he does – not an outstanding accomplishment. To me, this is amazing! 

I have found myself in awe of a lot of people the last week wondering how they do what they do.

Several of the parents here at church have taken their teens to college for the first time. How do they do that and not completely fall apart? How do you even get a child ready to be out on their own? That amazes me. 

screaming kidsI have girlfriends who are work-at-home-moms to kids under the age of 5. Multiple children. All under the age of 5 children. To me, that is the hardest job in the world – being a mom. I do not believe there is any such thing as a stay-at-home-mom because you are doing anything but staying at home. Running-around-at-home, cooking-cleaning-up-messes, negotiating-arguments-at-home, but “stay”ing is not what I consider these moms to be doing! 

 business team with a businesswoman holdingMany of my friends in the workplace are facing tasks much larger than they are able to accomplish on their own. Projects that impact thousands, maybe even millions of people world-wide. Many of these friends are in full-time ministry and are facing these ginormous projects under-staffed and with a paltry budget. And how are they approaching these projects? As if it is all in a day’s work!

 These people garner my admiration and respect as most of them do not even realize the enormous accomplishment and contribution they are making every day. They go about their days with a humility and grace, a willingness to serve and contribute that is beyond comparison.

 The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!” (Mt. 8.27) 

 Who are the people around you who amaze you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

