Posted by: JennyRain | July 1, 2009

The Glory of God

Glory. Glorified. Bring Glory To.


What does it mean to glorify God? This concept of God’s glory is something I have been circling around this week and am wondering what God is trying to teach me. 

Sunday a teaching I heard circled around Isaiah 6.1-8 and a devotional.
Monday another devotional talked about God’s glory in Isaiah 6:1-8.
Yesterday I was sent an email that talked about God’s glory descending into a crowd of ministering people.
 

Today, THREE readings pointed back towards scriptures highlighting this concept of God’s “Glory”

  • John 11:4: That the Son of God may be glorified through it.
  • Isaiah 40:5: The Glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together.
  • Luke 2:30-32: My eyes have seen your salvation which you have prepared in the sight of all people. A light for revelation to the gentiles and for glory to your people Israel.

I know I can be a little slow at times, but I’m really beginning to see a pattern here.

At the very least, God has piqued my curiosity! So I decided to take a journey…

Glory of the Lord: “Kavod Yehovah” כְּבוֹד יְהוָה  

(3513) Kabad (verbal root) = to be heavy, be weighty, be grievous, be hard, be rich, be honourable, be glorious, be burdensome, be honoured (Qal): to be heavy; to be heavy, be insensible, be dull; to be honoured

This sense of “heaviness” or “weightiness” is what I described sensing in my last post about God’s holiness. This concept of God’s glory is all throughout the scriptures. Scriptures are replete with the intersection of God’s Glory with common humanity:

  • Ephesians 1:6 says that we were created “for the praise and glory of His Grace”
  • Isaiah 43:6-7 says that we are “created for His glory”
  • Colossians 1:16 says that all things were created BY God FOR God and find their purpose IN God to bring Him glory.
  • 1 Corinthians 10:31 tells us to “do all for the Glory of God”

So my marriage can “bring God glory”? My work can “bring God glory”? Being who I am, as created being can “bring God glory”? As if I am “gifting” God (who is the creator and sustainer of all things glorious) with some type of something that He did not have before???

How can we, as un-glorious human beings, possibly “bring glory” to God?

Leave a Reply

Categories

