Posted by: JennyRain | June 7, 2009

The Blessing of Youth

This morning as I began wiping the sleep from my eyes, one of my first thoughts was

“I am so grateful for the younger folks who God has placed in my life”
 

Now, I admit, I continue to delude myself into believing that I am still 24 and have not aged in the last – lets say, more than a decade – but there are moments of clarity where I fully-fess up to my age. I just do not think of myself as “older” – that term that encompasses all of the aspects that age provides like wisdom and experience. I consider myself still learning, growing, and in need of teaching myself!

This morning, as my achy muscles reminded me of the years I have put on since age 24, I had to smile at all of the things I am learning from the twenty-somethings in my life… ah to have the depth of wisdom, intellect, and talent that some of the twenty-somethings around me do… it is a beautiful thing! 
  • Where would I be without the technological saavy of the young folk around me?
  • Who would inspire me to believe and embrace the impossible dream?
  • Whose passion would re-invigorate me to believe that Christ’s love can conquer all?
  • Whose tenacity and perseverance would help me pick myself up after a difficult hurt to believe again in those ideals that are pure and holy like love, faith, and hope?
  • Whose authenticity would remind me that being “real” is transformative to others?
This morning, these are some of the things I am grateful for from the young folks all around me. Gosh, I hope that I am always able to learn from the younger friends in my life – I am grateful for each of you!

 
1 Timothy 4.11-16
Command and teach these things. Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching. Do not neglect the gift you have, which was given you by prophecy when the council of elders laid their hands on you. Practice these things, immerse yourself in them, so that all may see your progress. Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers.
Leave a Reply

Categories

