Posted by: JennyRain | June 5, 2009

Bride and Husband: Together at last

“God does not want to marry a child. He wants a bride,” said Danny Silk in CD two of Defining the Relationship.

Awesome!

I had to rewind and listen to that statement three times to make sure I had heard it correctly. Finally! Someone else who has uncovered the truth that we are allowed, even encouraged to be adults in this place called the Kingdom of God.

I wonder what the Kingdom of God would look like here on earth if we owned our decisions each day as fully-participating followers of Christ? What could it look like if we realized we allowed ourselves to make decisions? What would it look like if we embraced our power to make decisions and take risks?

When did the “doormat-doctrine” creep into our church? When did we begin to learn that we are simply inanimate objects scurried along by the will of God while our own will is designed to be crushed by the “merciful” higher power of God’s will? Forgive me if I am cynical, but God does not sound “merciful and loving” when He is crushing my own being into oblivion.


  • When Rick Warren stated “It’s not about you,” in Purpose Driven Life, how did we as a church body morph his statement into “You, as created in the Image of God are not worth anything. You, designed as co-laborer with God – your thoughts, your actions, your very being, is of no value.”
  • When MercyMe sings “So Long Self,” do they really mean to purport that our very “self” – you know – that self that is created by our loving, all powerful Father in heaven – is bad? That somehow, we have to “get rid of self” completely to become holy?
There has to be some other way for a loving, merciful, creative God to implement His will here on earth without feeling the need to squash us. I mean, if He is SO Creative, if God has Ba-ra power (the ability to create something out of nothing), then is He really limited by my oft-contagious, ne’er-unremitting personal will?

I think not.

I am surrounded by leaders here at my church who are embracing their power as followers of Christ. Daily I watch as these fearless leaders own their decisions, responsibly become the Bride of Christ to serve others with humility, passion, and a great deal of compassion for the suffering and needs around them. Weekly I witness these Godly men and women – through their role as the Bride of Christ – hold others inside and outside of the Kingdom accountable to what is just, to what is right, and to what is true.

These leaders each do this with their own flair, their own style, and through their individual relationship with God.

Their personal relationship with God creates this wonderful story that then intersects with the story of another and both get transformed through the process. God does not diminish their own unique personalities – rather – God manifests HIS will here on earth THROUGH the personalities, gifts, traits, and callings of these leaders.

God gits’er’done – but He does so by actively involving the very fabric of each of these leaders’ beings and expressing His desires – making His kingdom known – through this partnership. Wow!

The impact this is having on me and on my walk with God is unparalleled. I am humbled. I am inspired. I am grateful. I am in awe. It focuses me daily on the Greatness of our God and drives me to a deeper dedication to chasing after the heart of God because I am learning this “following of Christ” I like to do has a responsibility attached to it.

These leaders are teaching me to bring all of who I am to my walk with Christ. The intersection of God’s will and my will does not mean that my will has to go away to serve the kingdom but rather that the expression of God’s will here on earth is often impacted by who I am.

Hence, God’s desire for a bride – not a child. Because only a bride is an adult. Only a bride owns their decisions. Only a bride knows she has a vital role in partnering in the marriage. Only a bride will take risks to love and be loved. Only a bride knows she can make an impact – a lasting impact on the world – for Jesus Christ – her husband.

(Photo Todd L. Thomas: 2009)
“Come here. I’ll show you the Bride, the Wife of the Lamb.” He took me away in the Spirit to an enormous, high mountain and showed me Holy Jerusalem descending out of Heaven from God, resplendent in the bright glory of God…The City shimmered like a precious gem, light-filled, pulsing light…the Lord God—the Sovereign-Strong—and the Lamb are the Temple. The City doesn’t need sun or moon for light. God’s Glory is its light, the Lamb its lamp! The nations will walk in its light and earth’s kings bring in their splendor. Its gates will never be shut by day, and there won’t be any night. Rev 21.9-12, 21-26 (The Message)
Leave a Reply

Categories

