Posted by: JennyRain | May 13, 2009

Freedom

I heard an awesome scripture this morning.

Rarely do I hang out in the Epistles – I used to – but for some reason, I am at a place in my journey where I prefer the narratives of the OT to the exhortations of the NT. So I was quite enchanted by this verse in the new as it reached out across my radio and grabbed my heart:

Now may the Lord direct your hearts into the love of God and into the patience of Christ. (2 Thess. 3:5: NKJV)

When I think of God’s direction in my life I think of tangible answers to questions like: 


  1. Lord, which job should I take or whom shall I marry?
  2. Lord, in whose lives are you working today, and how can I join you there?
  3. God, which ministry path would best suit your plan for my life?

 

These are specific prayers (for me), asking for somewhat specific direction. But perhaps this scripture suggests that God’s direction in our lives may include more nebulous things such as “feelings” or “attitudes of the heart” like peace, gentleness, patience, love, kindness.

Pastor Todd talked about Philippians 2 last weekend at church and he made the statement, “As followers of Christ we can not live a life of Love without the help of the Holy Spirit,” and repeated, “Let me say that again…It is impossible to live this life in Christ. We simply cannot do it without God’s help.”
 
I wonder if that is what Paul’s prayer above is exhorting the Thessalonians to do? In other words, perhaps Paul has realized that we can not even have patience, love, perseverance, kindness, gentleness, self-control – those things that allow us to make good decisions, live holy lives, seek after God, and even walk in our identity as chosen children of God if God does not first enable those traits in our hearts.

For me, there is some freedom in the possibility of that. Freedom in the realization that it is God who works in and through us to achieve His purpose; it is God who directs our hearts into all that is good. Sure, we have to cooperate with God’s prompting… but God directs. God initiates. We simply choose to join in the dance with God as He invites us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

