Posted by: JennyRain | May 10, 2009

No Place Like Home

There is truly no place like home. Home is the place where you live, learn, love, cry, laugh…the place where you establish history and develop friendships… the place where you meet yourself and discover purpose. It is a place where your heart finds its peace and serenity.

This week I have found “Home.” Back in Northern, Virginia, my heart has found rest. I realize that is a bit of an oxymoron… “Rest + Northern Virginia,” but there is a truth about this concept of “Home” that I have discovered this week.

This morning, I dialed into the internet campus at my old church in McLean, VA – McLean Bible Church (http://www.mcleanbibleinternet.org/). As I virtually worshipped with the congregation at the main campus, my heart was filled with a sense of gratefulness. A sense of home. My journey the past five years – from NoVA to Georgia, and now back up to NoVA – has not been without its challenges but it has been so worth it…

The Journey toward Home

Looking back on my journey to Georgia I can see how God has worked to redeem and restore things that were broken, out of place, and mismanaged in my life. God has used my time in Georgia to restore and redeem family relationships and provide me with much needed rest and healing. As Pastor Lee would say – I got a divine “Reset” on my journey!

I have been blessed with not one community of faith who loves me – but several! My time in Georgia has taught me so much about friendship, love, and joy. It is so comforting to know that I am surrounded by God’s hands here on earth, His Home, His community – and weather I am in VA or GA – I have a home community. 

I can see God’s fingerprints all along my journey and not one second has been wasted! From the day I asked “Should I move to GA or stay in VA?” and He answered “Own the decision,” which I promptly did… to the day my bridge-builder extra-ordinaire – AnnieLaurie – made some divine connections to help me find a job that eventually has moved me back up to NoVA… I have watched God meld and form each new step He lays before me.

Prayers are being answered, hopes are being restored, dreams are falling into place. So as I worshipped this morning, my heart beat with a song of gratefulness to God for all He has done, and is doing. Every moment, every step, every second, God has guided, encouraged, joined with me, redirected, befriended, and gently pushed me into the good land He is giving.

I am so humbled at this season I am entering into and I am so filled with a heart of gratefulness and praise to God for all He has done and continues to do. I am grateful for Home – my home in God – for I know now that wherever I go, I will always be Home because He is with me.

 

Song of Solomon 2.10-13,8.6-7

My lover spoke and said to me, “Arise, my darling, my beautiful one, and come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land. The fig tree forms its early fruit; the blossoming vines spread their fragrance. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.”

Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm; for love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave. It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame.. Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away. If one were to give all the wealth of his house for love, it would be utterly scorned.
 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. so glad to have you back!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

